SDSU Wins Fifth Straight Summit League Food Fight Title

SDSU Wins Fifth Straight Summit League Food Fight Title

ELMHURST, Ill. – South Dakota State University captured The Summit League's 2016-17 "Food Fight" title by raising over 43,800 pounds of food, increasing its total from last year by over 4,800 lbs. The Summit League designated 18 "Food Fight" games during the basketball season and collected donations at the basketball championships with the nine league member institutions combining to raise over 105,800 lbs.

South Dakota State's final winning total of 43,849.62 lbs., the largest amount by an individual school in any year, was donated to the Brookings Food Pantry. This marks the Jackrabbits fifth straight title and league-best sixth overall in the eight years of the league-wide food drive.

South Dakota finished second and collected 17,460.80 lbs., a 3,106.30-lb. increase over 2016, followed by Denver in third with 12,050 lbs. North Dakota State raised 8,176 lbs., while three schools (FW, WIU, ORU) each raised over 5,000 pounds. IUPUI raised 4,000 lbs. with Omaha raising over 1,100 lbs. 

A total of nine men's basketball games and nine women's games were selected for the "Food Fight" initiative with host schools having exactly one week per game to collect food and/or cash donations.

For the seventh straight year, The Summit League "Food Fight" was extended to include The Summit League Basketball Championships in Sioux Falls, S.D.  Feeding South Dakota teamed up with the league to help collect 3,063 lbs. All donations went to the Sioux Falls Food Pantry. 

In the program's nine years, over 579,700 lbs. of food has been collected for Summit League communities and their local food banks.

"Food Fight" Champions
2009 – Oakland
2010 – South Dakota State
2011 – Oakland
2012 – Southern Utah
2013 – South Dakota State
2014 – South Dakota State
2015 – South Dakota State
2016 – South Dakota State 
2017 – South Dakota State

Celebrating its 35th season of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 120,000 at nine institutions, including four located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced eight NCAA Champions along with over 80 Academic All-Americans, 75 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague and watch the weekly "Inside The Summit League" show at


Behind The Desk: Tom Douple
August 16, 2016 Behind The Desk: Tom Douple