South Dakota Earns First Summit League Sportsmanship Award

South Dakota Earns First Summit League Sportsmanship Award

Sportsmanship Award Release

Past Sportsmanship Award Releases

ELMHURST, Ill. – South Dakota has been honored by its fellow institutions with the 2015-16 Summit League Sportsmanship Award it was announced Thursday. It marks the first time in school history that the Coyotes have earned the prestigious award.

The Summit League Sportsmanship Award is given annually to the institution that is judged by its peers to be the best in the league in living up to the ideals of sportsmanship. Areas for evaluation include student-athlete conduct, staff/administrator conduct, coaches’ conduct and event management. 

Southern Utah owns the league record with five Sportsmanship Awards, followed by Centenary with three and Fort Wayne, Omaha and South Dakota State each capturing a pair of awards. South Dakota joins IUPUI, Kansas City and Valparaiso, which have each earned the honor once.

Previous Sportsmanship Award Winners
Academic Year School
1998-99 Kansas City
1999-2000 Southern Utah
2000-01 IUPUI
2001-02 Valparaiso
2002-03 Southern Utah
2003-04 Southern Utah
2004-05 Southern Utah
2005-06 Southern Utah
2006-07 Centenary
2007-08 Centenary
2008-09 South Dakota State
2009-10 Centenary
2010-11 South Dakota State
2011-12 Fort Wayne
2012-13 Omaha
2013-14 Omaha
2014-15 Fort Wayne
2015-16 South Dakota

In its fourth decade of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 120,000 at nine institutions, including four located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced eight NCAA Champions along with over 75 Academic All-Americans, 65 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. In 2014-15, The Summit League ranked first for NCAA Graduation Success Rate in women’s basketball and second in baseball. For more information about the league and to “See The Summit”, visit website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague and watch the weekly “Inside The Summit League” show at