ORU’s James, SDSU’s Bray Capture #SummitBSB Weekly Awards

Oral Roberts' Derrian James and South Dakota State's Adam Bray
Oral Roberts' Derrian James and South Dakota State's Adam Bray

ELMHURST, Ill. – Oral Roberts outfielder Derrian James was named The Summit League Baseball Player of the Week while South Dakota State starting pitcher Adam Bray was selected as the league's Pitcher of the Week for their performances April 6-12.

Derrian James, Oral Roberts
Sr. // OF
Port Arthur, Texas // Panola College

James captures his second consecutive award after leading Oral Roberts to a perfect 4-0 week, including a win over No. 23 Texas Tech. He delivered a game-winning two-run double in the eighth inning to secure the victory over the Red Raiders. The senior outfielder went 6-for-6 in game one at Western Illinois with two doubles, five RBI and four runs scored. He added a pair of hits in game two with three RBI and two doubles and a home run in the series finale. For the week, James hit .500 (10-for-20) with a .900 slugging percentage and .476 on-base percentage. He had 11 RBI, five runs scored, five doubles, one home run and two stolen bases.

Also nominated: Evan VanSumeren, Fort Wayne; Ben Petersen, North Dakota State; Alex Schultz, Omaha; Zach Coppola, South Dakota State.

Previous honorees: Feb. 16 – Shane Trevino, IPFW; Feb. 23 – Brandon Soat, IPFW/Anthony Sequeira, ORU; March 2 – Reid Clary, SDSU; March 9 – Zach Coppola, SDSU; March 16 – Cole Gruber, UNO; March 23 – Alex Mortensen, UNO/Chris Tschida, WIU; March 30 – Anthony Sequeira, ORU; April 6 – Derrian James, ORU/Colton Pogue, WIU.

Adam Bray, South Dakota State
Sr., RHP
Eden Prairie, Minn. // Eden Prairie

Bray earns his first Pitcher of the Week accolade this season and third of his career. The senior right-hander tossed a complete game in South Dakota State's 5-2 win against North Dakota State Friday. He surrendered just four hits with five strikeouts, no walks and one earned run. Bray became the all-time leader in strikeouts at SDSU with 228, which also ranks 14th in Summit League history. He broke a record that has stood since 1994.

Also nominated: Evan Miller, Fort Wayne; Tyler Buss, Oral Roberts; Zach Williamsen, Omaha.

Previous honorees: Feb. 16 – Kyler Stout, ORU; Feb. 23 – Zach Williamsen, UNO; March 2 – Tyler Hamer, UNO; March 9 – Preston Church, WIU; March 16 – Xavier Altamirano, ORU; March 23 – Talon Jumper, SDSU; March 30 – Guillermo Trujillo, ORU; April 6 – Ryan Wells, IPFW.

In its fourth decade of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 120,000 at nine institutions, including four located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced eight NCAA Champions along with over 65 All-Americans, 60 Academic All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league and to "See The Summit", visit www.thesummitleague.org, follow on Twitter @thesummitleague, download The Summit League's Front Row app, and watch the weekly "Inside The Summit League" show at www.thesummitleague.org/itsl.