SDSU Sweeps #SummitBSB Weekly Awards

SDSU Sweeps #SummitBSB Weekly Awards

ELMHURST, Ill. – South Dakota State catcher Reid Clary was named The Summit League Baseball Player of the Week while teammate Adam Bray was selected as the league's Pitcher of the Week for their performances April 13-19.

Reid Clary, South Dakota State

Sr. // C
Princeton, Ill. // Illinois-Springfield
Clary garnered his second honor of the season after hitting .600 and slugging .933 while helping South Dakota State to a series win over Omaha. In the series win against the Mavs, Clary hit .727 and slugged 1.182 while going 8-for-11 with two doubles, one home run and five RBI. He had at least two hits in each contest and threw out four baserunners (two caught stealing and two pickoffs), three of which were erased in the series finale. For the week, he totaled nine hits, seven RBI and four runs scored.

Also nominated: Greg Kaiser, Fort Wayne; Juan Gamez, North Dakota State; Clayton Taylor, Omaha; Matt Whatley, Oral Roberts.

Previous honorees: Feb. 16 – Shane Trevino, IPFW; Feb. 23 – Brandon Soat, IPFW/Anthony Sequeira, ORU; March 2 – Reid Clary, SDSU; March 9 – Zach Coppola, SDSU; March 16 – Cole Gruber, UNO; March 23 – Alex Mortensen, UNO/Chris Tschida, WIU; March 30 – Anthony Sequeira, ORU; April 6 – Derrian James, ORU/Colton Pogue, WIU; April 13 – Derrian James, ORU.

Adam Bray, South Dakota State
Sr., RHP
Eden Prairie, Minn. // Eden Prairie
Bray collected his second consecutive award and fourth of his career after tossing eight innings in a victory that lifted South Dakota State past Omaha in The Summit League standings. Against the Mavs, Bray went 8.0 innings without allowing an earned run. He struck out six while yielding six hits, one earned run and one walk to record his 20th career victory.

Also nominated: Jake Weber, Fort Wayne; Zach Williamsen, Omaha; Xavier Altamirano, Oral Roberts.

Previous honorees: Feb. 16 – Kyler Stout, ORU; Feb. 23 – Zach Williamsen, UNO; March 2 – Tyler Hamer, UNO; March 9 – Preston Church, WIU; March 16 – Xavier Altamirano, ORU; March 23 – Talon Jumper, SDSU; March 30 – Guillermo Trujillo, ORU; April 6 – Ryan Wells, IPFW; April 13 – Adam Bray, SDSU.

In its fourth decade of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 120,000 at nine institutions, including four located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced eight NCAA Champions along with over 65 All-Americans, 60 Academic All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league and to "See The Summit", visit, follow on Twitter @thesummitleague, download The Summit League's Front Row app, and watch the weekly "Inside The Summit League" show at