Johnson, Williamsen Collect #SummitBSB Weekly Honors

South Dakota State's Matt Johnson and Omaha's Zach Williamsen
South Dakota State's Matt Johnson and Omaha's Zach Williamsen

ELMHURST, Ill. – South Dakota State first baseman Matt Johnson was named The Summit League Baseball Player of the Week while Omaha starting pitcher Zach Williamsen was selected as the league's Pitcher of the Week for their performances May 4-10.

Matt Johnson, South Dakota State

So. // 1B
Ankeny, Iowa // Ankeny
Johnson earns his first career Player of the Week award after collecting three mulit-hit games in the series win over North Dakota State. The sophomore first baseman went 4-for-5 in the opener with a double, home run, three RBI and three runs scored. He added a pair of two-hit games in the final contests of the series. For the week, Johnson batted .667 (8-of-12) with a 1.000 slugging percentage and .692 on-base percentage and totaled five RBI with three runs scored, one double and a homer.

Also nominated: Brayden Resch, North Dakota State; Matt Whatley, Oral Roberts; Brent Turner, Western Illinois.

Previous honorees: Feb. 16 – Shane Trevino, IPFW; Feb. 23 – Brandon Soat, IPFW/Anthony Sequeira, ORU; March 2 – Reid Clary, SDSU; March 9 – Zach Coppola, SDSU; March 16 – Cole Gruber, UNO; March 23 – Alex Mortensen, UNO/Chris Tschida, WIU; March 30 – Anthony Sequeira, ORU; April 6 – Derrian James, ORU/Colton Pogue, WIU; April 13 – Derrian James, ORU; April 20 – Reid Clary, SDSU; April 27 – Kendall Whitman, IPFW; May 4 – Matt Brandy, ORU.

Zach Williamsen, Omaha
Sr. // RHP
Omaha, Neb. // Millard West
Willamsen tallies his third career Pitcher of the Week award and second this season after tossing a complete game shutout at Western Illinois Saturday. The senior right-hander allowed just six hits, all singles, over nine innings of work. He fanned a career-high 10 batters and allowed just one walk in the 4-0 Maverick victory. With the win, Williamsen improved to 7-6 on the year with a 4.12 ERA.

Also nominated: David Ernst, North Dakota State; Xavier Altamirano, Oral Roberts; Chris Anderson, South Dakota State.

Previous honorees: Feb. 16 – Kyler Stout, ORU; Feb. 23 – Zach Williamsen, UNO; March 2 – Tyler Hamer, UNO; March 9 – Preston Church, WIU; March 16 – Xavier Altamirano, ORU; March 23 – Talon Jumper, SDSU; March 30 – Guillermo Trujillo, ORU; April 6 – Ryan Wells, IPFW; April 13 – Adam Bray, SDSU; April 20 – Adam Bray, SDSU; April 27 – Evan Miller, IPFW/Anthony Sequeira, ORU; May 4 – David Ernst, NDSU.

In its fourth decade of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 120,000 at nine institutions, including four located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced eight NCAA Champions along with over 65 All-Americans, 60 Academic All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league and to "See The Summit", visit, follow on Twitter @thesummitleague, download The Summit League's Front Row app, and watch the weekly "Inside The Summit League" show at