NDSU’s Pierzchalski, Keefer Sweep #SummitBSB Awards

North Dakota State's Mason Pierzchalski and Trent Keefer
North Dakota State's Mason Pierzchalski and Trent Keefer

ELMHURST, Ill. – North Dakota State first baseman Mason Pierzchalski and starting pitcher Trent Keefer were selected as the league's Player and Pitcher of the Week for their performances May 11-17, marking the final awards of the season.

Mason Pierzchalski, North Dakota State

Fr. // 1B
Sammamish, Wash. // Eastlake
Pierzchalski records his first career Player of the Week accolade after helping North Dakota State earn the final spot in the upcoming league tournament with a series win over Omaha. The freshman first baseman had a pair of hits, including a bases-clearing triple in the eighth inning, in the second game of Friday's doubleheader. He added three hits and two RBI in Saturday's 5-4 extra inning win. For the week Pierzchalski batted .500 (5-for-10) with a .545 slugging percentage and .700 on-base percentage. He totaled five RBI and two runs scored with a triple and walk during the week.

Also nominated: Adam Caniglia, Omaha.

Previous honorees: Feb. 16 – Shane Trevino, IPFW; Feb. 23 – Brandon Soat, IPFW/Anthony Sequeira, ORU; March 2 – Reid Clary, SDSU; March 9 – Zach Coppola, SDSU; March 16 – Cole Gruber, UNO; March 23 – Alex Mortensen, UNO/Chris Tschida, WIU; March 30 – Anthony Sequeira, ORU; April 6 – Derrian James, ORU/Colton Pogue, WIU; April 13 – Derrian James, ORU; April 20 – Reid Clary, SDSU; April 27 – Kendall Whitman, IPFW; May 4 – Matt Brandy, ORU; May 11 – Matt Johnson, SDSU.

Trent Keefer, North Dakota State
Sr. // LHP
Mesa, Ariz. // Gateway CC
Keefer collects his first career Pitcher of the Week award after earning the win in the second game of Friday's doubleheader against Omaha. The senior southpaw went the distance surrendering just one earned run and six hits while striking out three and walking one. The complete game was Keefer's second of the season and helped the Bison secure the final spot in the upcoming Summit League Championship.

Previous honorees: Feb. 16 – Kyler Stout, ORU; Feb. 23 – Zach Williamsen, UNO; March 2 – Tyler Hamer, UNO; March 9 – Preston Church, WIU; March 16 – Xavier Altamirano, ORU; March 23 – Talon Jumper, SDSU; March 30 – Guillermo Trujillo, ORU; April 6 – Ryan Wells, IPFW; April 13 – Adam Bray, SDSU; April 20 – Adam Bray, SDSU; April 27 – Evan Miller, IPFW/Anthony Sequeira, ORU; May 4 – David Ernst, NDSU; May 11 – Zach Williamsen, UNO; May 18 – Trent Keefer, NDSU.

In its fourth decade of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 120,000 at nine institutions, including four located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced eight NCAA Champions along with over 65 All-Americans, 60 Academic All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league and to "See The Summit", visit www.thesummitleague.org, follow on Twitter @thesummitleague, download The Summit League's Front Row app, and watch the weekly "Inside The Summit League" show at www.thesummitleague.org/itsl.