UNO’s Gruber, WIU’s Mortillaro Capture #SummitBSB Weekly Awards

UNO’s Gruber, WIU’s Mortillaro Capture #SummitBSB Weekly Awards

ELMHURST, Ill. – Omaha outfielder Cole Gruber was named Summit League Baseball Player of the Week, while Western Illinois starting pitcher Joe Mortillaro garnered the league's Pitcher of the Week award for their performances during the week of March 21-27.

Sr.  // OF // Papillion, Neb.

  • Earned his second career Summit League Player of the Week award helping Omaha to a series win over North Dakota State
  • Went 4-for-4 in the second game of Sunday's doubleheader with a double, walk, five runs scored and two stolen bases
  • For the week, he batted .700 with a .769 on-base percentage and 1.000 slugging percentage
  • Tallied eight runs, one RBI, one double, one triple, three walks and five steals while striking out just once

Also nominated: Evan VanSumeren, Fort Wayne; Drew Fearing, North Dakota State; Brent Williams, Oral Roberts; Luke Ringhofer, South Dakota State; Roman Visintine, Western Illinois

Previous honorees: Feb. 22 – Clayton Taylor, UNO; Feb. 29 – Nick Roark, ORU; March 7 – Matt Whatley, ORU; March 14 – Luke Ringhofer, SDSU/Clayton Taylor, UNO; March 21 – Rolando Martinez, ORU

Sr. // RHP // Middle Village, N.Y.

  • Collected his first career Summit League Pitcher of the Week award
  • Picked up his first win of the season in Saturday's second game against North Dakota State as Western Illinois notched a 2-0 victory
  • Went six innings and surrendered just three hits with a career-high 11 strikeouts
  • The six innings pitched and three hits were season bests

Also nominated: Evan Miller, Fort Wayne; Reed Pfannenstein, North Dakota State; Cale Tims, Oral Roberts; Landon Busch, South Dakota State

Previous honorees: Feb. 22 – Luke Lind, NDSU; Feb. 29 – Tyler Fox, UNO/Brady Womacks, ORU; March 7 – Nick Wood, ORU; March 14 – Corey Binger, UNO; March 21 – Landon Busch, SDSU

In its fourth decade of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 120,000 at nine institutions, including four located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced eight NCAA Champions along with over 75 Academic All-Americans, 65 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. In 2014-15, The Summit League ranked first for NCAA Graduation Success Rate in women's basketball and second in baseball. For more information about the league and to "See The Summit", visit the website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague and watch the weekly "Inside The Summit League" show at