IPFW's Kaiser Named Senior CLASS All-American

Fort Wayne's Greg Kaiser
Fort Wayne's Greg Kaiser

Senior CLASS Award Release

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. -- Fort Wayne shortstop Greg Kaiser was named a Senior CLASS Award Second Team All-American it was announced Friday.

Recently named an ABCA/Rawlings All-Mideast Region First Team honoree for the second straight year, the redshirt-senior started 58 of 58 games this season, hitting .313 with 17 home runs, three triples, 20 doubles, 39 runs and 49 RBIs.  Kaiser posted a .644 slugging percentage and a .372 on base percentage with 12-15 stolen bases.  He led the Mastodons in home runs, doubles, RBIs, total bases (150, a season record), slugging percentage, multiple RBI games (14) and fielding assists (168).  Kaiser also led the Summit League in homers, total bases and slugging percentage and led all Division I shortstops in home runs through the regular season.  He holds the IPFW career record for total bases (363), as well.  He previously earned 2016 All-Summit League First Team, Summit League Championship All-Tournament Team and Summit League Academic All-League Team honors.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the Senior CLASS Award honors the attributes of senior student-athletes in four areas: community, classroom, character and competition. The award program is designed exclusively for college seniors who are utilizing their complete athletic eligibility, remaining committed to their university and pursuing the many rewards a senior season can bring. Premier Sports Management manages the award.

In its fourth decade of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 120,000 at nine institutions, including four located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced eight NCAA Champions along with over 75 Academic All-Americans, 65 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. In 2014-15, The Summit League ranked first for NCAA Graduation Success Rate in women's basketball and second in baseball. For more information about the league and to "See The Summit", visit www.thesummitleague.org website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague and watch the weekly "Inside The Summit League" show at www.thesummitleague.org/itsl.