Summit League Announces 2017 Baseball/Softball League Schedules

Summit League Announces 2017 Baseball/Softball League Schedules

Baseball League Schedule
Softball League Schedule

ELMHURST, Ill. – The Summit League released its 2017 league schedules for the spring sports of baseball and softball it was announced today.

The double round-robin league baseball schedule begins March 17, consisting of a pair of three-game series' among the six Summit League teams. A few of the key baseball series' are outlined below. The 2017 Summit League Baseball Tournament is set for May 24-27, at J.L. Johnson Stadium in Tulsa, Okla.

  • March 17-19: North Dakota State at Oral Roberts (defending regular season and tournament champion); Fort Wayne (tournament runner-up) at Western Illinois
  • April 7-9: Oral Roberts at Fort Wayne (first rematch of last season's championship game)
  • April 14-16: Oral Roberts at Omaha (regular season runner-up)
  • April 28-30: Fort Wayne at Oral Roberts (second rematch of last season's championship game)
  • May 18-20 (final week of the regular season): North Dakota State at Fort Wayne; Omaha at South Dakota State; Oral Roberts at Western Illinois

The league softball schedule is slated to start the weekend of March 25-26. A few of the key softball series' are outlined below. North Dakota State hosts the 2017 Summit League Softball Tournament at the Ellig Sports Complex in Fargo, N.D., May 10-13.

  • March 25-26: Fort Wayne at Omaha (regular season runners-up)
  • April 8-9: IUPUI at North Dakota State (rematch of last season's championship game)
  • April 29-30: Omaha (regular season runner-up) at IUPUI (tournament runner-up)
  • May 6-7: (final week of the regular season): IUPUI at Fort Wayne; North Dakota State at Omaha; Western Illinois at South Dakota State

Celebrating its 35th season of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 120,000 at nine institutions, including four located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced eight NCAA Champions along with over 80 Academic All-Americans, 75 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague and watch the weekly "Inside The Summit League" show at