ORU's Womacks Named to NCBWA Preseason All-America Team

Oral Roberts' Brady Womacks
Oral Roberts' Brady Womacks

NCBWA All-America Release

DALLAS (oruathletics.com) – Oral Roberts' Brady Womacks was named to the 2017 NCAA Division I Preseason All-America Team as a relief pitcher as selected by the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association Tuesday.

The senior from Pevely, Missouri was one of the nation's premiere closers a season ago posting 14 saves for the Golden Eagles, ranking second in single-season history, earning himself a spot on the All-America Third Team heading into 2017.

In his first year at ORU, Womacks appeared in a team-high 29 games out of the bullpen with a 2-2 record and a 1.22 earned run average landing on the All-Summit League First Team. He was brilliant down the stretch for the Golden Eagles posting seven saves in eight appearances during the month of May.

The right hander did not allow a run at ORU's J.L. Johnson Stadium in 2016 averaging 8.24 strikeouts per nine innings at home. He capped the home slate with a season-long 3.2 innings of work in The Summit League Championship clinching game against Fort Wayne.

Eighteen different conferences are represented on the three NCBWA All-America teams, along with nine conference championships teams and 23 NCAA Regional squads. The three All‐America squads are filled with 2016 conference players and pitchers of the year.

Founded in 1962, the NCBWA is dedicated to the advancement of college baseball. Membership is open to writers, broadcasters and publicists of the sport. For more information about the NCBWA, visit the association's official web site, www.ncbwa.com.

Celebrating its 35th season of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 120,000 at nine institutions, including four located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced eight NCAA Champions along with over 80 Academic All-Americans, 75 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit www.thesummitleague.org website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague and watch the weekly "Inside The Summit League" show at www.thesummitleague.org/itsl.


ORU Completes Sweep at Alabama
February 26, 2017 ORU Completes Sweep at Alabama
ORU Defeats SEC Foe Alabama
February 25, 2017 ORU Defeats SEC Foe Alabama