NDSU’s Pierzchalski, SDSU’s Froom Collect #SummitBSB Weekly Awards

North Dakota State's Mason Pierzchalski & South Dakota State's Ryan Froom
North Dakota State's Mason Pierzchalski & South Dakota State's Ryan Froom

ELMHURST, Ill. – North Dakota State infielder Mason Pierzchalski was named Summit League Baseball Player of the Week, while South Dakota State starting pitcher Ryan Froom garnered the Pitcher of the Week award for their opening weekend performances, Feb. 17-19.

Jr. // IF // Sammamish, Wash.

  • Earned his second career Player of the Week award
  • Hit the eventual game-winning two-run triple in the top of the 10th inning in Saturday's 9-6 game one win at Mississippi Valley
  • Had three multi-hit contests in the four-game series and scored at least one run in all four games
  • For the week, he accounted for 12 runs (6 runs, 6 RBI) with seven hits, three walks and three extra base hits (2B, 3B, HR)
  • Batted .438 (7-for-16) with a .550 on-base percentage and .812 slugging percentage

Also nominated: Jake Weber, Fort Wayne; Noah Cummings, Oral Roberts; Landon Badger, South Dakota State; Drue Galassi, Western Illinois

Sr. // RHP // Crystal, Minn.

  • Received his first career Pitcher of the Week honor
  • Tossed seven shutout innings en route to a 3-1 South Dakota State win over Chicago State
  • Allowed just three hits with five strikeouts and no walks in his seven innings of work
  • Set the tone by striking out the side in the first inning of his season debut

Also nominated: Mitchell Ley, Fort Wayne; Reed Pfannenstein, North Dakota State; Corey Binger, Omaha; Josh McMinn, Oral Roberts; Ian Koch, Western Illinois

Celebrating its 35th season of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 120,000 at nine institutions, including four located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced eight NCAA Champions along with over 80 Academic All-Americans, 75 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit www.thesummitleague.org website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague and watch the weekly "Inside The Summit League" show at www.thesummitleague.org/itsl. 


ORU Completes Sweep at Alabama
February 26, 2017 ORU Completes Sweep at Alabama
ORU Defeats SEC Foe Alabama
February 25, 2017 ORU Defeats SEC Foe Alabama