ORU's Cummings, Ausua Named #SummitBSB Player & Pitcher of the Year

ORU's Cummings, Ausua Named #SummitBSB Player & Pitcher of the Year

All-League Release | Championship Page | Bracket

Tournament Central | Banquet Photos 

ELMHURST, Ill. - Summit League regular season champion Oral Roberts led the way with 13 selections on the baseball all-league teams. The awards were announced at the annual banquet Tuesday night and were voted on by the league's head coaches.

Oral Roberts' Noah Cummings was named the league's Player of the Year and teammate Miguel Ausua captured Pitcher of the Year honors. The Golden Eagles' Dylan Snypes earned the Newcomer of the Year award, while head coach Ryan Folmar garned the Coach of the Year accolade.

Cummings captured Player of the Year honors after leading the league in RBI (64), runs scored (42) and total bases (123). His 64 RBI on the year currently places him 13th in the nation. Against league competition, the junior is first in RBI (35), second in both home runs (7) and total bases (68) and fourth in slugging percentage (.567). A two-time Player of the Week this season, Cummings has a .323 batting average with 70 hits.

Ausua earned the Pitcher of the Year award after ranking first against league opponents with eight wins, a 1.04 ERA and a .204 opponent's batting average. His 59 strikeouts and 60.1 innings pitched also rank second among league games. Overall, the Puerto Rico native is fourth in the nation with 10 victories, 16th with a 1.86 ERA, and has recorded 74 strikeouts against 27 walks. Ausua registered a pair of Player of the Week honors this season.

Snypes becomes the third consecutive Oral Roberts player to be named Newcomer of the Year (Matt Whatley, 2015; Brent Williams, 2016). The junior transfer has a .332 batting average this season and hit .341 against league foes. He also led The Summit League with 73 hits with 42 coming against league teams. The shortstop was Player of the Week on March 13 and has also scored 38 runs and recorded 36 RBI on the year.

Folmar captured his third consecutive Coach of the Year honor after leading Oral Roberts to its 17th regular season championship title in 18 years competing in the league. The Golden Eagles recorded a 25-4 league mark and dropped just five games at home this season with only one coming against a Summit League squad (Western Illinois). Folmer guided ORU to the top seed in the upcoming league tournament for the 17th time in program history.

The Summit League Championship begins Wednesday, in Tulsa, Okla., with No. 2 North Dakota State facing No. 3 South Dakota State at Noon (CT), followed by host and top seed Oral Roberts vs. No. 4 Western Illinois at 6 p.m. (CT). The double elimination tournament continues with two games Thursday, one game Friday and the championship game(s) slated for Saturday.


First Team
Name, School Pos. Yr. Hometown
Brent Williams, Oral Roberts
1B R-Sr. Colorado Springs, Colo.
Nick Roark, Oral Roberts
2B Jr. Broken Arrow, Okla.
Cal Hernandez, Oral Roberts
3B R-So. Coppell, Texas
Dylan Snypes, Oral Roberts SS Jr. State Line, Miss.
Logan Busch, North Dakota State OF Jr. Inver Grove Heights, Minn.
Noah Cummings, Oral Roberts OF R-Jr. Alpine, Calif.
Michael Hungate, Oral Roberts OF Sr. Katy, Texas
Adam McGinnis, Western Illinois C Sr. Normal, Ill.
Grant Suponchick, Omaha DH So. Papillion, Neb.
Trevor McCuthchin, Oral Roberts UTL So. Owasso, Okla.
Miguel Ausua, Oral Roberts SP Jr. Peñuelas, Puerto Rico
Justin McGregor, Oral Roberts SP Jr. Midwest City, Okla.
Josh McMinn, Oral Roberts SP So. Oklahoma City, Okla.
Chris Halbur, South Dakota State RP Sr. Manning, Iowa
Second Team
Name, School Pos. Yr. Hometown
Matt Johnson, South Dakota State
1B Sr.
Ankeny, Iowa
Johnathan Fleek, Western Illinois 2B Jr. Albert Lea, Minn.
Newt Johnson, South Dakota State 3B Jr. Rapid City, S.D.
Jackson Boyce, Fort Wayne SS Sr. Leo, Ind.
Sam Grellner, Oral Roberts OF Sr. Okarche, Okla.
Ben Petersen, North Dakota State OF Sr. Lino Lakes, Minn.
Roman Visintine, Western Illinois OF Jr. Bloomington, Ill.
Matt Whatley, Oral Roberts C R-Jr. Claremore, Okla.
JT Core, North Dakota State DH Sr. Leavenworth, Kan.
Nick Smith, South Dakota State UTL So.
Chanhassen, Minn.
Preston Church, Western Illinois SP Sr. Ogden, Iowa
Luke Lind, North Dakota State SP Sr. Eden Prairie, Minn.
Reed Pfannenstein, North Dakota State SP Sr. Rockville, Minn.
Kyler Stout, Oral Roberts RP R-Jr. Broken Arrow, Okla.
Player of the Year: Noah Cummings, Oral Roberts
Pitcher of the Year: Miguel Ausua, Oral Roberts
Newcomer of the Year: Dylan Snypes, Oral Roberts
Coach of the Year: Ryan Folmar, Oral Roberts


Celebrating its 35th season of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 120,000 at nine institutions, including four located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced eight NCAA Champions along with over 80 Academic All-Americans, 75 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit www.thesummitleague.org website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague and watch the weekly "Inside The Summit League" show at www.thesummitleague.org/itsl.


ORU Completes Sweep at Alabama
February 26, 2017 ORU Completes Sweep at Alabama
ORU Defeats SEC Foe Alabama
February 25, 2017 ORU Defeats SEC Foe Alabama