IUPUI's Hill Named Player of the Year

IUPUI's Hill Named Player of the Year

ELMHURST, Ill.George Hill has been selected as The Summit League's Men's Basketball Player of the Year in voting conducted by the league's 10 head coaches, sports information directors and selected media members.

Southern Utah's Geoff Payne took home the league's Newcomer of the Year honor, while the Oral Roberts trio of Yemi Ogunoye, Robert Jarvis and Scott Sutton were honored as Defensive Player of the Year, Sixth Man of the Year and Coach of the Year, respectively.

Hill was named Player of the Year after leading the league in scoring with 22.0 points per game. He also ranked fourth in assists (4.47) and fifth in rebounding (6.9). The four-time Player of the Week led IUPUI to a school-record-tying 24-6 overall record and a second-place league finish with a 15-3 mark. He recorded a league-leading eight double-doubles on the season, scored 20 or more points 14 times and in six games scored 30 or more points. The junior surpassed the 1,000-point plateau on Nov. 18 and has 1,548 career points, good for fifth place all-time at IUPUI.

Payne takes home the Newcomer of the Year award after transferring to Southern Utah from Snow College. He led the league in offensive rebounds (3.0), ranked second in scoring (21.9), field goal percentage (.611) and steals (1.78) and third in rebounding (7.1). He finished with career highs of 35 points and 15 rebounds at Oral Roberts on Feb. 19, one of his seven double-doubles on the year.

Jarvis, who came off the bench in all but three games this season, averaged 15.4 points per game for the Golden Eagles this season to collect Sixth Man of the Year accolades. Not only does he lead his team in scoring, but he is the top scoring bench man in the nation. He was fifth in the league in free throw percentage (.855) and 10th in scoring.

Ogunoye collects the Defensive Player of the Year honor after shutting down some of the league's – and nation's – top players this season. In league play, he limited NDSU's Ben Woodside to six points on 2-of-10 shooting, SDSU's Kai Williams to five points on 1-of-5 shooting and UMKC's Dane Brumagin to two points on 0-of-7 shooting. He also held Oklahoma State leading scorer James Anderson scoreless with four turnovers.

Sutton was named Coach of the Year after leading Oral Roberts to a 21-8 overall record and 16-2 league mark. The Golden Eagles claimed The Summit League regular-season title for the fourth year in a row, despite losing a pair of players that combined for 51 percent of the team's points last year. Sutton has a career record of 165-110 (.601) and ranks second in school history in career wins. Sutton was a finalist for the 2007 Clair Bee Coaching Excellence Award and was the National Association of Basketball Coaches District 12 co-Coach of the Year in 2005, sharing the award with his father. This is his second Summit League Coach of the Year honor, as he won the award in 2002.

Joining Hill, Payne and Jarvis on the first team are Oakland's Derick Nelson (16.1 ppg, 6.9 rpg), and North Dakota State's Brett Winkelman (18.4 ppg, 7.7 rpg) and Ben Woodside (18.3 rpg, 5.1 apg).

The second team consists of Jaraun Burrows (14.7 ppg, 6.3 rpg) of IPFW, UMKC's Dane Brumagin (18.2 ppg, .465 3FG%), Oakland's Johnathon Jones (14.6 ppg, 6.8 apg), Oral Roberts' Shawn King (10.2 ppg, 6.6 rpg, 2.1 bpg) and Gary Patterson (12.9 ppg, .471 3FG%) of IUPUI.

Making The Summit League honorable mention team are Centenary's Tyrone Hamilton (15.7 ppg, 3.1 rpg) and Nick Stallings (16.1 ppg, 5.3 rpg), ORU's Moses Ehambe (12.3 ppg, .885 FT%), Western Illinois' David Jackson (15.3 ppg, 4.7 rpg) and IUPUI's Austin Montgomery (13.1 ppg, 2.7 rpg).

In addition to Jarvis and Payne, the all-newcomer team consists of UMKC's Reggie Hamilton (11.0 ppg, .867 FT%), ORU's Marcus Lewis (7.7 ppg, 5.7 rpg) and WIU's David DuBois (9.6 ppg, 4.4 rpg).

* Statistics given are from Summit League games only.

2007-08 Summit League Men's Basketball All-League Teams


Name, School Pos. Yr. Hometown

George Hill, IUPUI G Jr. Indianapolis, Ind.

Robert Jarvis, Oral Roberts G Jr. Humble, Texas

Derick Nelson, Oakland F Jr. Lansing, Mich.

Geoff Payne, Southern Utah F Jr. Sandy, Utah

Brett Winkelman, North Dakota State F Jr. Morris, Minn.

Ben Woodside, North Dakota State G Jr. Albert Lea, Minn.


Name, School Pos. Yr. Hometown

Jaraun Burrows, IPFW F Sr. Nassau, Bahamas

Dane Brumagin, UMKC G Jr. Montgomery City, Mo.

Johnathon Jones, Oakland G So. Okemos, Mich.

Shawn King, Oral Roberts C Sr. Bequia, St. Vincent

Gary Patterson, IUPUI G Jr. East Chicago, Ind.


Name, School Pos. Yr. Hometown

Moses Ehambe, Oral Roberts G/F Sr. Arlington, Texas

Tyrone Hamilton, Centenary G Jr. Shreveport, La.

David Jackson, Western Illinois G Sr. Memphis, Tenn.

Austin Montgomery, IUPUI G Sr. Indianapolis, Ind.

Nick Stallings, Centenary G Jr. New Orleans, La.


Name, School Pos. Yr. Hometown

Reggie Hamilton, UMKC G Fr. Harvey, Ill.

Robert Jarvis, Oral Roberts G Jr. Humble, Texas

Marcus Lewis, Oral Roberts F Jr. Long Beach, Calif.

Geoff Payne, Southern Utah F Jr. Sandy, Utah

David DuBois, Western Illinois G Jr. Madison, Wis.


George Hill, IUPUI


Geoff Payne, Southern Utah


Robert Jarvis, Oral Roberts


Yemi Ogunoye, Oral Roberts


Scott Sutton, Oral Roberts

ORU Defeats SUU 71-62
February 20, 2008 ORU Defeats SUU 71-62
NDSU Handles SDSU, 90-63
January 26, 2008 NDSU Handles SDSU, 90-63
ORU, WIU Pick Up Wins Tuesday
November 21, 2007 ORU, WIU Pick Up Wins Tuesday