NDSU's Woodside Named Player of the Year as Summit League Announces 2008-09 Awards

NDSU's Woodside Named Player of the Year as Summit League Announces 2008-09 Awards

SIOUX FALLS, S.D. – North Dakota State's Ben Woodside was selected as The Summit League Men's Basketball Player of the Year in voting by the league's 10 head coaches, sports information directors and select media members as announced by the league Thursday.

IUPUI's Robert Glenn earned the league's Newcomer of the Year while IPFW's Deilvez Yearby was named Sixth Man of the Year and Centenary's Chase Adams took home the Defensive Player of the Year nod. NDSU's Saul Phillips was named Coach of the Year.

Woodside led The Summit League in scoring (22.2 ppg in league) and ranked second in assists (5.7 apg in league) while leading the Bison to the league's regular season title. For the year, he had four double-doubles (points-assists) and had five games with 30 or more points, including a league-best 60 point performance against vs. Stephen F. Austin in December in which he tied an NCAA record with 30 made free throws. Woodside collected a pair of Player of the Week honors during the year, including the final regular season award. His 668 season points set a new NDSU single-season record while his 199 free throws are the fifth-highest season total in Summit League history.

Glenn earned the Newcomer of the Year award after transferring to IUPUI from Wabash Valley JC. During the season he led the Jaguars with 16.7 points per league game, averaged 6.1 rebounds per league contest, and ranked sixth in The Summit League in field goal percentage (.598) for league games. He shared the league's Player of the Week award on Feb. 2 and recorded six 20-point games throughout the season.

Yearby garnered Sixth Man of the Year honors after coming off the bench in 15 of IPFW's 18 league games while averaging 9.8 points, 6.1 rebounds and 2.2 blocked shots per contest. In his first season with the Mastodons after transferring from Kansas State, Yearby averaged 8.9 points and 6.3 rebounds per game.

Adams claimed the Defensive Player of the Year accolade after a Summit-best 53 steals in 18 league games while compiling 80 steals for the year. His 2.7 steals per game average for the season ranks ninth nationally and his 14.6 points per league game led Centenary.

Phillips earned the Coach of the Year award after guiding his team to the Summit League's regular season championship and the top seed in the tournament. In Summit League play, the Bison recorded a league-best +12.6 scoring margin and led the league in seven full season categories under their second-year coach.

Joining Woodside as a first team All-Summit selection was teammate Brett Winkelman, the league's third-leading scorer (19.2 ppg) and rebounder (8.2 rpg). The first team also included a set of teammates from Oakland in Johnathon Jones, the national leader in assists (9.2 apg in league play), and Erik Kangas, the league's leader in three-pointers per game (4.1 per league game), and from Oral Roberts in Robert Jarvis (17.2 ppg in league play) and Marcus Lewis (13.8 ppg in league).

Comprising the second team is Glenn, Southern Utah's Davis Baker (18.2 ppg), Oakland's Keith Benson (16.6 ppg, 3.2 bpg), Western Illinois' David DuBois (18.6 ppg) and South Dakota State's Garrett Callahan (16.1 ppg).

Receiving honorable mention are Adams and Centenary teammate Nick Stallings (12.9 ppg), UMKC's Dane Brumagin (13.9 ppg), IPFW's David Carson (16.1) and NDSU's Mike Nelson (10.6).

In addition to Glenn and Yearby, the all-newcomer team includes Kevin Ford (9.4 ppg) and Dominique Morrison (8.7 ppg) of Oral Roberts and Centenary's Gary Redus II (13.2 ppg).

The Summit League Championships begins March 7 at the Sioux Falls Arena in Sioux Falls, S.D., and culminates with the title game on Tuesday, March 10 on ESPN at 7 p.m.



Name, School Pos. Yr. Hometown

Robert Jarvis, Oral Roberts G Sr. Humble, Texas

Johnathon Jones, Oakland G Jr. Okemos, Mich.

Erik Kangas, Oakland G Sr. DeWitt, Mich.

Marcus Lewis, Oral Roberts F Sr. Long Beach, Calif.

Brett Winkelman, North Dakota State F Sr. Morris, Minn.

Ben Woodside, North Dakota State G Sr. Albert Lea, Minn.


Davis Baker, Southern Utah G Jr. Coto de Caza, Calif.

Keith Benson, Oakland C R-So. Farmington Hills, Mich.

David DuBois, Western Illinois G Sr. Madison, Wis.

Robert Glenn, IUPUI F Jr. Indianapolis, Ind.

Garrett Callahan, South Dakota State G Jr. Seneca, Ill.


Chase Adams, Centenary G Jr. Baltimore, Md.

Dane Brumagin, UMKC F Sr. Montgomery City, Mo.

David Carson, IPFW F Sr. Gary, Ind.

Mike Nelson, North Dakota State G Sr. Madison, Wis.

Nick Stallings, Centenary G Sr. New Orleans, La.


Kevin Ford, Oral Roberts F Jr. Portland, Ore.

Robert Glenn, IUPUI F Jr. Indianapolis, Ind.

Dominique Morrison, Oral Roberts G/F Fr. Kansas City, Mo.

Gary Redus II, Centenary G So. Decatur, Ala.

Deilvez Yearby, IPFW F Jr. Detroit, Mich.


Ben Woodside, North Dakota State


Robert Glenn, IUPUI


Deilvez Yearby, IPFW


Chase Adams, Centenary


Saul Phillips, North Dakota State