Women's and Men's Golf All-Academic Teams announced

South Dakota State's Sydney Bormann and Purdue Fort Wayne's Zach Schroeder are repeat honorees on the women's and men's golf teams, respectively.
South Dakota State's Sydney Bormann and Purdue Fort Wayne's Zach Schroeder are repeat honorees on the women's and men's golf teams, respectively.

SIOUX FALLS, S.D. – Summit League officials announced the 2018-19 men's and women's golf academic all-league teams Wednesday, recognizing those student-athletes that excelled both on the course and in the classroom this season.

South Dakota State's Sydney Bormann (Human Biology, 4.00) is the only repeat honoree from last season's squad after the junior maintained a perfect GPA. She posted a top-20 stroke average during the regular season and owns a top-10 stroke average in SDSU history. Bormann is a two-time WGCA All-American Scholar.

Denver's Mary Weinstein (Finance, 3.98) and Sophie Newlove (Finance, 3.61) finished one-two, respectively, at the 2019 Summit League Championship and landed on the all-academic team for the first time. Weinstein led the league with a 72.52 stroke average and broke a championship record with a final-round 65 (-7) that cemented the team title for the Pioneers. The Summit League Championship MVP was a 2018 WGCA All-American Scholar.

Newlove, the 2018 Championship MVP, recorded four top-10 finishes during her final collegiate season and has been a three-time WGCA All-American Scholar (2016-18). She was a 2019 All-Summit League First Team performer after posting a 75.15 scoring average.

Rounding out the women's team were North Dakota State's Taylor McCorkle (Marketing; 3.60) and South Dakota's Katie Bartlett (Nursing, 3.93). McCorkle won a pair of titles during the regular season, capturing the Lady Thunderbird Invite and Diane Thomason Invite. The sophomore was a 2018 WGCA All-American Scholar and earned second team all-league honors.

Bartlett won the Creighton Classic and helped the Coyotes to a team title at the Loyola Fall Invitational. She owned a 78.0 stroke average during the season and was the Coyotes' representative on the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee.

On the men's side, there were three repeat honorees, headlined by Purdue Fort Wayne Zach Schroeder, who is just the second student-athlete to earn the accolade three-straight seasons since its inception in 2013. Schroeder (Finance, 3.56), has been a Summit League Academic Honor Roll each of the past three seasons and set the Mastodons' career scoring record at 74.25. He had a pair of top-10 finishes and broke the program's 36-hole scoring record at the Wright State Invitational.

Joining Schroeder on the team once again were North Dakota State's Andrew Israelson (Finance, 3.72) and South Dakota's Scott Fudenberg (Finance; 3.87). As a junior, Israelson is already the Bison's career stroke average leader at 73.28 and he tied for first at the 2019 Summit League Championship in April with a 219 (+3) total.

Fudenberg helped guide the Coyotes to a tie for second place at the 2019 Summit League Championship. He posted nine rounds under par and carried a 74.8 stroke average during the season.

North Dakota's Jeremy Kirk (Chemistry, 3.91 GPA) and Omaha's Cole Christain (Business Administration, 3.96 GPA) were first-time honorees recognized Wednesday. Kirk competed was the Fighting Hawks' Male Scholar Athlete of the Year in 2017-18 and was a finalist this year. He owned a 77.7 stroke average in 14 rounds for the league newcomer. Christain, a Summit League Academic Honor Roll member a year ago, finished third on the team in scoring with a career-best stroke average of 75.8.

Student-athletes are nominated by their respective sports information directors (SIDs) and then voted on by a panel composed of faculty athletics representatives from each university and SIDs.

In order to be considered for the academic all-league golf team, a student-athlete: must have at least a 3.3 cumulative career grade-point average (on a 4.0 scale); must have completed at least one full academic year (two semesters, three quarters) at the current institution; and must have participated in 50 percent of their team's completed competitions.