Summit League Announces Men’s Soccer Awards

Summit League Announces Men’s Soccer Awards

Men's Soccer Championship Page // @summitchamps

ELMHURST, Ill. – The Summit League announced its men's soccer all-league awards at its annual banquet Thursday evening. Regular season champion Denver claimed four of the five individual honors and led the way with nine all-league honorees, including a record eight first team selections.

Denver's trio of Zach Bolden (Offensive), Theodor Remman (Defensive) and Oliver Brown (Goalkeeper) earned The Summit League's top three individual honors while head coach Bobby Muuss collected the Coach of the Year award. The Pioneers are the third team in Summit League history to claim four major honors in the same season. Omaha's Christian Garcia was named Newcomer of the Year.

Bolden leads The Summit League in each of the four major offensive categories - points (21), goals (7), assists (7) and shots (45) in all games. In league matches, Bolden held the top spot in each category, having compiled 27 shots, 12 points, four goals and four assists in six games. Bolden also leads the league in game-winning goals both overall (five) and in league matches (three). In the NCAA rankings, Bolden is 11th in assists per game (0.50) and 26th in points per game (1.38). He was a two-time Summit League Offensive Player of the Week, collecting honors on Oct. 21 and Nov. 11.

Remman led a Pioneer defense that yielded just one goal in six Summit League matches, including a league-best five shutouts. Denver also led The Summit League in fewest goal allowed, lowest goals against average (0.17). On the year, Remman scored a goal and an assist for three total points and earned the league's Defensive Player of the Week award in consecutive weeks, Sept. 16 and 23.

Brown led The Summit League with a 0.17 goals against average, .929 save percentage and five shutouts in league play. On the season, his 0.86 goals against average places him in a tie for 14th in league history. From Oct. 21-Nov. 4, Brown earned three consecutive Summit League Defensive Player of the Week awards, the most on record (since 1995). He compiled Denver Division I records with five consecutive shutouts and a 586-minute scoreless streak. Brown earned The Summit League's Male Athlete of the Month honor for October.

Muuss guided Denver to a 6-0 Summit League record en route to the regular season crown in the school's first season in the league. The Pioneers became the fourth men's soccer team in league history and first since 1996 to go unbeaten and untied in its inaugural season.

Garcia, the league's newcomer of the year, placed second in shots (36), tied for fifth in goals (five) and ranked sixth in points (10). In league matches, Garcia finished second in both points (eight) and goals (three) in six matches. He earned The Summit League's Offensive Player of the Week award on Nov. 4.

Bolden, Brown and Remman led the first team all-league selections. Denver's eight honorees also included forward Reid Hukari, midfielders Cole Chapleski and Jordan Schweitzer and defenders Taylor Hunter and Blair Jeralds. Eastern Illinois, Omaha and Western Illinois each placed a representative on the first team.

First Team
Zach Bolden, F, Denver
Oliver Brown, G, Denver
Cole Chapleski, M, Denver
Garet Christianson, F, Eastern Illinois
Felipe da Silva, D, Omaha
Reid Hukari, F, Denver
Taylor Hunter, D, Denver           
Blair Jeralds, D, Denver
Husref Jupic, M, Western Illinois
Theodor Remman, D, Denver
Jordan Schweitzer, M, Denver

Second Team
Ian Block, F, IUPUI
Erick Bloom, D, Western Illinois
Eduardo Cortes, G, IUPUI
Lance Davis, D, IUPUI
Chava Garcia, M, Omaha
Christian Garcia, F, Omaha
Marco Hernandez, F, Oral Roberts
Brian Hoyt, M, Denver
Trevor Laffoon, D, Oral Roberts
Diego Lopez, F, Western Illinois
Jose Rodriguez, M, Fort Wayne

Lance Davis, D, IUPUI
Reagan Dunk, D, Denver
Wayne Farmer, D, Oral Roberts
Christian Garcia, F, Omaha
Eric Kronenberg, F, Denver
Ben LaCourse, G, Oral Roberts
Sam Langston, D, Omaha
Diego Lopez, F, Western Illinois
Kyle Morlack, M, Denver
Mark Moulton, M, Omaha
Crisitian Soto, M, IUPUI

Offensive Player of the Year
Zach Bolden, Denver

Defensive Player of the Year
Theodor Remman, Denver

Goalkeeper of the Year
Oliver Brown, Denver

Newcomer of the Year
Christian Garcia, Omaha

Coach of the Year
Bobby Muuss, Denver


In its fourth decade of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 120,000 at eight institutions, including three located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced eight NCAA Champions, 62 All-Americans and 50 Academic All-America selections.

Follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague, @summithoops and @summitchamps


Denver's Upset Bid Ends in PKs
November 21, 2013 Denver's Upset Bid Ends in PKs
Summit League Soccer Scoreboard
September 24, 2013 Summit League Soccer Scoreboard