Denver Shuts Out No. 16 Akron, 1-0

Denver's Graham Smith
Denver's Graham Smith

Denver saw its regular season unbeaten streak climb to 37 matches, dating back to the 2014 season, with a 1-0 shutout victory over No. 16 Akron Monday night.

[3] Denver 1, [16] Akron 0
DENVER ( -- On his Pioneer debut, redshirt-junior Jacob Hanlin drew a penalty kick in the 45th minute that senior co-captain Graham Smith converted to send the [3/4] University of Denver men's soccer team past [16/20] Akron 1-0 on Monday night at Pioneer Field at the University of Denver Soccer Stadium. 

With the victory, Denver extended its regular season unbeaten run, dating back to Halloween, 2014, to 37 matches. 

 Follow #SummitMSOC scores, results and statistics all season long here.

Through 35 years of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of nearly 100,000 at eight institutions, including three located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University with the University of North Dakota becoming an official member on July 1, 2018. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced nine NCAA Champions along with over 90 Academic All-Americans, nearly 100 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague.