Three #SummitMSOC Programs Earn Team Academic Award

2016 Summit League Championship Match -- Omaha vs. Denver (photo by Teddy Choi)
2016 Summit League Championship Match -- Omaha vs. Denver (photo by Teddy Choi)

United Soccer Coaches Release 

KANSAS CITY, Mo. -- A trio of Summit League men's soccer programs earned the United Soccer Coaches Team Academic Award for the 2016-17 season it was announced by the organization.

Current league members Denver and Omaha, along with former member IUPUI were honored.

The Pioneers had a team grade-point average (GPA) of 3.58 with the Mavericks recording a 3.30 GPA as a team.

A total of 283 collegiate men's soccer programs were awarded the honor by recording a team GPA of 3.00 or higher.

Through 35 years of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of nearly 100,000 at eight institutions, including three located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University with the University of North Dakota becoming an official member on July 1, 2018. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced nine NCAA Champions along with over 90 Academic All-Americans, nearly 100 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague.