Denver Secures Top Seed in #SummitMSOC Tournament

Denver Secures Top Seed in #SummitMSOC Tournament

Championship Page | Bracket | Twitter

ELMHURST, Ill. – Denver earned the No. 1 seed for the upcoming Summit League Men's Soccer Championship after going undefeated in Summit League play during the regular season. Eastern Illinois, Omaha and Western Illinois join DU in the tournament field for the second straight season.

The 2017 Summit League Men's Soccer Championship will be contested Nov. 9 and 11 at Caniglia Field in Omaha, Neb. All matches will be streamed free of charge on

Thursday's first match pits top-seeded Denver (10-6-1, 5-0-0 SL) against No. 4 Eastern Illinois (4-8-6, 2-2-1 SL) at 2 p.m. CT. In the day's second match, No. 2 Western Illinois (5-9-1, 3-2-0 SL) faces host and No. 3 seeded Omaha (9-5-2, 2-1-2 SL) at 5 p.m. CT.

The winners of Thursday's matches will play in Saturday's championship contest at 2 p.m. CT with the victor earning an automatic bid to the NCAA College Cup.

The defending champion Pioneers are making their fifth consecutive Summit League Tournament appearance and fourth as the No. 1 seed. The Fighting Leathernecks, in their record 17th tournament, have won six titles in program history, the most in league history. The Mavericks are the third seed for the first time, while Eastern Illinois is making its third overall and second straight appearance.

Tournament Schedule
Thursday, Nov. 9
2 p.m. - Match One: (1) Denver vs. (4) Eastern Illinois
5 p.m. - Match Two: (2) Western Illinois vs. (3) Omaha

Saturday, Nov. 11
2 p.m. – Championship Match: Winner Match 1 vs. Winner Match 2

All times Central

Through 35 years of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of nearly 100,000 at eight institutions, including three located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University with the University of North Dakota becoming an official member on July 1, 2018. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced nine NCAA Champions along with over 90 Academic All-Americans, nearly 100 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague.