#SummitMSOC Championship Begins Thursday

#SummitMSOC Championship Begins Thursday

Championship Page 

OMAHA, Neb. – The Summit League Men's Soccer Championship is set for Thursday and Saturday in Omaha, Neb. Four teams will compete for an automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament.

The semifinals begin Thursday, with four-time defending champion and top seeded Denver taking on No. 4 Eastern Illinois at 2 p.m. CT, followed by No. 2 Western Illinois battling host and No. 3 Omaha at 5 p.m. CT. Both match-ups will be held at Caniglia Field and hosted by the University of Nebraska Omaha.

The Championship match is slated for Saturday at 2 p.m. CT and will feature the winners of Thursday's contests.

All matches will be streamed free of charge.


Date: Thursday, Nov. 9
Times: 2 p.m. CT (No. 1 Denver vs. No. 4 Eastern Illinois)
           5 p.m. CT (No. 2 Western Illinois vs. No. 3 Omaha)
Location: Caniglia Field
Host: University of Nebraska Omaha
Video Stream

Date: Saturday, Nov. 11
Time: 2 p.m. CT (Winners of semifinal matches)
Location: Caniglia Field
Host: University of Nebraska Omaha
Video Stream


Watch Live: http://www.thesummitleague.org/broadcast/wedlpx
Updates will be available on Twitter @summitchamps


Omaha is hosting the league tournament for the first time in league history … Denver, a 2016 College Cup participant, has won the previous four league tournaments and has an all-time record of 8-0-0 … The Pioneers have been the No. 1 seed four of the last five years … Western Illinois, qualifying in its league record 17th tournament, has won six titles but has only been the No. 2 seed on four previous occasions with the last coming in 2009 … The Mavericks have qualified all three years they have been eligible for the league tournament with 2017 being the first as the No. 3 seed … Eastern Illinois enters the tournament as the No. 4 seed for the second straight season … Denver and Omaha peaked at No. 3 and No. 9, respectively, in the national polls earlier this season.

2016:     Denver
2015:     Denver
2014:     Denver
2013:     Denver
2012:     Western Illinois

Through 35 years of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of nearly 100,000 at eight institutions, including three located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University with the University of North Dakota becoming an official member on July 1, 2018. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced nine NCAA Champions along with over 90 Academic All-Americans, nearly 100 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit www.thesummitleague.org website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague.