League Announces #SummitMSOC Awards

League Announces #SummitMSOC Awards

Championship Page 

OMAHA, Neb. – The Summit League announced its men's soccer all-league awards Wednesday afternoon as Omaha earned a league-high seven all-league selections followed by regular season champion Denver with six.

Denver's Andre Shinyashiki captured Offensive Player of the Year honors, while teammate Scott DeVoss earned the Defensive Player of the Year award. Eastern Illinois' Mike Novotny was selected as the Goalkeeper of the Year with Denver's Jacob Stensson being named Newcomer of the Year. Denver head coach Jamie Franks was named the Coach of the Year.

Shinyashiki is the second Denver student-athlete to be named Offensive Player of the Year (Zach Bolden, 2013). The junior, a three-time Offensive Player of the Week recipient, leads The Summit League with 22 points and is tied for the league-lead with nine goals, while his four assists on the year are tied for second. He has also added two game-winning goals this season.

DeVoss anchored a Denver defensive unit that led the league in shutouts (7), goals allowed (13) and goals against average (0.74). The junior started all 17 Denver contests and produced five shots, while collecting one Defensive Player of the Week award this season (Oct. 23).

Novotny becomes the first Eastern Illinois student-athlete to capture the Goalkeeper of the Year award and earns his third career all-league team honor. The senior led The Summit League in both saves (86) and save percentage (.835), which also ranked 11th and 12th, respectively, in the nation. Novotny carries a 0.94 goals against average and helped lead the Panthers to their best league record (2-2-1) in program history.

Stensson helped lead Denver to a 10-6-1 overall mark. He totaled three assists this season, all coming against league competition, recording a pair at Fort Wayne. The freshman becomes just the second Pioneer to win the Newcomer of the Year award, joining teammate Shinyashiki (2015).

Franks collects his third consecutive Coach of the Year honor after leading the Pioneers to their second unblemished league record at 5-0-0 (6-0-0, 2013). Peaking at No. 3 in the national polls earlier this season, Franks has led Denver to an unbeaten league record (15-0-2) the last three seasons. The Pioneers, members of The Summit League since 2013, have won the regular season title all five years.

Joining DeVoss, Novotny, Shinyashiki and Stensson on the all-league first team are Denver's Graham Smith, Omaha's Xavier Gomez, Emmanuel Hamzat, Elvir Ibisevic, Seth Rinderknecht and Jacob Weiler and Western Illinois' Drew Whalen.


First Team
Scott DeVoss (D), Jr., Denver
Xavier Gomez (M), Sr., Omaha
Emmanuel Hamzat (F), Sr., Omaha
Elvir Ibisevic (F), So., Omaha
Mike Novotny (GK), Sr., Eastern Illinois
Seth Rinderknecht (D), So., Omaha
Andre Shinyashiki (F), Jr., Denver
Graham Smith (M), Sr., Denver
Jacob Stensson (M), Fr., Denver
Jacob Weiler (D), Sr., Omaha
Drew Whalen (F), Jr., Western Illinois

Second Team
Corey Cantor (M), Sr., Oral Roberts
Junior Chavez (F), Jr., Oral Roberts
Alessandro Corti (D), So., Eastern Illinois
AJ Fuller (D), Sr., Denver
Joseph Ghitis (GK), Sr., Omaha
Cole Nelson (M), Jr., Omaha
Alejandro Pacheco (D), Sr., Western Illinois
Fernando Pacheco (F), Sr., Western Illinois
Zach Tom (M), Jr., Fort Wayne
Alex Underwood (M), Sr., Denver
Oscar Uyamadu (F), Sr., Fort Wayne

All-Newcomer Team
Dante Brigida (F), Fr., Oral Roberts
Brahan Gamarra (M), Sr., Omaha
Miguel Gomez (M), Fr., Omaha
Diego Gutierrez (F), Fr., Omaha
Erik Isaksson (D), Fr., Eastern Illinois
Romain Lopez (M), Jr., Fort Wayne
Ben Marett (D), Fr., Western Illinois
Edgar Mesa (D), So., Eastern Illinois
Stevie Siy (D), Fr., Omaha
Brendan Stangel (GK), Fr., Fort Wayne
Jacob Stensson (M), Fr., Denver

Offensive Player of the Year
Andre Shinyashiki, Denver

Defensive Player of the Year
Scott DeVoss, Denver

Goalkeeper of the Year
Mike Novotny, Eastern Illinois

Newcomer of the Year
Jacob Stensson, Denver

Coach of the Year
Jamie Franks, Denver

Through 35 years of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of nearly 100,000 at eight institutions, including three located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University with the University of North Dakota becoming an official member on July 1, 2018. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced nine NCAA Champions along with over 90 Academic All-Americans, nearly 100 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit www.thesummitleague.org website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague.