Omaha Drops NCAA Tournament Match at FIU

Championship Match -- (1) Denver vs. (3) Omaha [photo by Mark Kuhlmann]
Championship Match -- (1) Denver vs. (3) Omaha [photo by Mark Kuhlmann]

NCAA Men's Soccer Page | Bracket (PDF)

The Basics
Score: No. 11 FIU 2, Omaha 0
Records: FIU (12-1-4), Omaha (10-6-3)
Location: FIU Soccer Stadium - Miami, Fla.

MIAMI – Omaha dropped its NCAA Men's Soccer Tournament First Round contest to FIU by a 2-0 score Thursday night at FIU Soccer Stadium in Miami.

The Panthers netted a goal just 56 seconds into the match as Deshaw Nembhard headed in Paul Marie's free kick from 18 yards out. Nembhard's goal was all FIU needed as it was the eventual game-winner.

Omaha's Seth Rinderknecht just missed tying the match with a header in the 16th minute only to see it go wide.

Marie recorded recorded another assist for his second point in the match on Jordan Machado's goal in the 26th minute.

The contest was Omaha's first-ever in the NCAA Tournament after starting the program in 2011.

Turning Point
Nembhard's goal in the first minute of the match proved to be enough for the FIU Panthers.

Inside The Box Score

  • Omaha held a 9-1 corner kick advantage and 13-6 shot advantage in the match.
  • Xavier Gomez had three shots to lead the Mavericks while Deshaw Nembhard had two for the Panthers.
  • UNO's Joseph Ghitis had one save with his counterpart Daniel Gagliardi making seven stops for FIU.
  • A total of five yellow cards were issued in the match with four being assigned to FIU. 

News & Notes

  • Omaha participated in the program's first NCAA Tournament.
  • FIU backup goalkeeper Daniel Gagliardi relieved starter Hugo Gauroux at the 11:49 mark due to injury.
  • This was the first matchup between the two schools.

Through 35 years of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of nearly 100,000 at eight institutions, including three located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University with the University of North Dakota becoming an official member on July 1, 2018. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced nine NCAA Champions along with over 90 Academic All-Americans, nearly 100 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague.