The Summit League Announces Week One men’s soccer awards

The Summit League Announces Week One men’s soccer awards

By: Kelly Shipp

SIOUX FALLS, S.D. – Denver senior forward Andre Shinyashiki has been named this week's The Summit League Men's Soccer Offensive Player of the Week, while Oral Roberts freshman goalie Miles Motakef earns defensive player of the week honors.

Shinashiki shined for the Pioneers in the opening weekend, scoring three consecutive goals in under 10-minutes. The Golden Eagles Motakef started his collegiate career off strong with an overtime shutout.

Offensive Player of the Week

Andre Shinyashiki, Denver

Sr. | Forward | Sao Paulo, Brazil

• Recorded his first career hat trick in just 9:04 against Monmouth

• His natural hat trick is the 15th-fastest hat trick recorded in NCAA Men's Soccer Division I history

• Shinyashiki became the fastest Pioneer to score three goals in a game in Denver's D1 history while also netting the first Denver hat trick since 2013

• Shinyashiki also recorded an assist in the match to tie the Denver Division I single-game points record with seven

• This is Shinyashiki's fourth career player of the week honor

Also nominated: Matthew Lieshout, Purdue Fort Wayne; Tarik Nicholls, Oral Roberts; Xavier Brown, Western Illinois


Defensive Player of the Week

Miles Motakef, Oral Roberts

Fr. | Goalkeeper | Georgetown, Texas

• Earned an overtime shutout over Drake in his first career match

• Played and started in all 190 minutes for the Golden Eagles this weekend

• Earned 11 saves, including five against Drake in their opening night victory

Also nominated: Scott Devoss, Denver


Week 1:

2018 The Summit League Players of the Week

Offensive: Andre Shinyashiki, Denver

Defensive: Miles Motakef, Oral Roberts


Follow The Summit League
SOCIAL: Twitter | Facebook | Instagram



Through 36 years of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of nearly 115,000 at nine institutions, including three located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Purdue Fort Wayne (Purdue University Fort Wayne), the University of North Dakota, North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced 12 NCAA Champions along with over 100 Academic All-Americans, and nearly 125 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level.