The Summit League Announces 2018 Men’s Soccer Postseason Honors

The Summit League Announces 2018 Men’s Soccer Postseason Honors

By: Kelly Shipp

SIOUX FALLS, S.D. – The Summit League announced the 2018 men's soccer All-Summit League teams and individual honors Wednesday. Denver, the 2018 Summit League regular season champion, swept the individual awards as Andre Shinyashiki was selected as the offensive player of the year, Scott DeVoss was named the defensive player of the year, Will Palmquist earned goalkeeper of the year, Callum Stretch collected newcomer of the year and Jamie Franks was selected as the coach of the year through a vote by the leagues six head coaches.

Shinyashiki was named the Summit League Offensive Player of the Year for the second consecutive season after leading the country in goals scored (27), points (58), points per game (3.22) and game-winning goals (10). Shinyashiki has helped lead the Pioneers to a 13-3-2 record, a sixth straight Summit League regular season title and the programs first-ever No. 1 ranking.

DeVoss earned the defensive player of the year award for the second consecutive season after helping anchor a defensive unit that allowed just 14 goals in 18 matches while ranking 20th in goals-against average at 0.73. DeVoss started in all 18 Pioneer matches and scored one goal.

Palmquist, a redshirt sophomore from Denver, was nearly impossible to score on this season. He appeared in nine matches, making eight starts, and recorded three shutouts. In three Summit League matches, he was perfect in net, stopping all seven shots he faced.

Stretch earned his first career award by being named the newcomer of the year. Stretch is a freshman defender that helped Denver record nine shutouts and rank 13th in the country with a .500 shutout percentage. Stretch started in all 18 contests and recorded three assists.

Shinyashiki, DeVoss, Palmquist, and Stretch all earned spots on the All-Summit League First Team and were joined by fellow Pioneer Jacob Stesson, Omaha's Diego Gutierrez and Denzel Woods, Purdue Fort Wayne's Blake Cearns and Matthew Lieshout, Oral Roberts' Tanguy Guerineau and Eastern Illinois' Edgar Mesa.

The Summit League Second Team is made up of Oral Roberts' Junior Chavez, Tarik Nicholls and Dante Brigida, Omaha's Martin Veys, Marcos Bautista and Ugo Tritz, Western Illinois' Paul Kirdorf, Purdue Fort Wayne's Zach Tom and Adam Gannon, and Denver's Moshe Perez and Kenny Akamatsu.   

The Summit League Newcomer Team consists of Purdue Fort Wayne's Blake Cearns and Tor Erik Larsen, Omaha's Martin Veys, Marcos Bautista and Mitch Hammer, Oral Roberts' Tanguy Guerineau and Miles Motakef, and Denver's Moshe Perez, Stefan DeLeone, Callum Stretch and Jared Jungjohann.

The Summit League Championship begins at 1 p.m. (MT) in Denver, Colo. on Thursday with No. 1 seed Denver facing No. 4 Eastern Illinois, in the first semifinal match of the day. The second semifinal match will include No. 2 seed Omaha taking on No. 3 Purdue Fort Wayne at 4 p.m. (MT). Following Thursday's semifinals, The Summit League Championship will continue on Saturday, Nov. 10 with the championship match kicking off at 3 p.m. (MT).


Summit League Offensive Player of the Year

Andre Shinyashiki, Denver

Summit League Defensive Player of the Year

Scott DeVoss, Denver

Summit League Goalkeeper of the Year

Will Palmquist, Denver                          

Summit League Newcomer of the Year

Callum Stretch, Denver                                  

Summit League Coach of the Year

Jamie Franks, Denver

All-Summit League First Team

Andre Shinyashiki, Denver, F

Diego Gutierrez, Omaha, F

Blake Cearns, Purdue Fort Wayne, F

Jacob Stesson, Denver, M

Matthew Lieshout, Purdue Fort Wayne, M

Tanguy Guerineau, Oral Roberts, M

Scott DeVoss, Denver, D

Denzel Woods, Omaha, D

Edgar Mesa, Eastern Illinois, D

Callum Stretch, Denver, D

Will Palmquist, Denver, G

All-Summit League Second Team

Junior Chavez, Oral Roberts, F

Moshe Perez, Denver, F

Martin Veys, Omaha, F

Dante Brigida, ORU, F

Kenny Akamatsu, Denver, M

Zach Tom, Purdue Fort Wayne, M

Marcos Bautista, Omaha, M

Tarik Nicholls, Oral Roberts, D

Adam Gannon, Purdue Fort Wayne, M

Paul Kirdorf, Western Illinois, M

Ugo Tritz, Omaha, M

All-Summit League Newcomer Team

Blake Cearns, Purdue Fort Wayne, F

Moshe Perez, Denver, F 

Martin Veys, Omaha, F

Stefan DeLeone, Denver, M

Marcos Bautista, Omaha, M

Tanguy Guerineau, Oral Roberts, M

Callum Stretch, Denver, D

Jared Jungjohann, Denver, D

Mitch Hammer, Omaha, D

Tor Erik Larsen, Purdue Fort Wayne, G

Miles Motakef, Oral Roberts, G


Follow The Summit League
SOCIAL: Twitter | Facebook | Instagram


Through 36 years of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of nearly 115,000 at nine institutions, including three located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Purdue Fort Wayne (Purdue University Fort Wayne), the University of North Dakota, North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced 12 NCAA Champions along with over 100 Academic All-Americans, and nearly 125 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level.