South Dakota State’s Lawley Named Player of the Week

South Dakota State’s Lawley Named Player of the Week

ELMHURST, Ill. – South Dakota State's Parker Lawley was named as The Summit League's men's tennis player of the week for his performance April 16-22. The award marks the final weekly honor of the season.

Parker Lawley, South Dakota State
So., Fargo, N.D.
Lawley earned his third career award and second this season after posting a 2-0 singles record and 2-0 doubles mark in Summit League matches during the final weekend of the regular season. In a 5-2 win over Western Illinois, Lawley defeated Patrick Hammers (6-2, 4-6, 6-3) at No. 2 singles. He also combined with Andrea Boglić for a 9-8 (10-8) victory at No. 1 doubles. Lawley helped the Jackrabbits to a 4-1 win over Fort Wayne the following day by completing a three-set (6-1, 4-6, 6-4) triumph over Connor Andrews at No. 2 singles. In doubles, he teamed for an 8-6 victory at No. 1. With the two wins, South Dakota State earned a No. 2 seed in The Summit League Tournament, the highest in school history. Lawley finished the regular season on a seven-match singles win streak and has a team-leading 13 singles victories, including a 4-0 Summit League record.

Also nominated: Joao Freitas, Fort Wayne; Bradley Holt, Western Illinois.

Previous recipients: 1/21 – Bradley Holt, Western Illinois; 1/28 – Tomas Patino, Kansas City; 2/5 – Joel Modesitt, IUPUI; 2/12 – Joao Freitas, Fort Wayne; 2/19 – Tomas Patino, Kansas City; 2/26 Martin Muadi, Fort Wayne; 3/5 – Parker Lawley, South Dakota State; 3/12 – Grant Fleming, Kansas City; 3/19 – Jason Jaruvang, IUPUI; 3/26 – Grant Fleming, Kansas City; 4/2 - Andrea Boglić, South Dakota State; 4/9 – Abdul Alawadhi, Kansas City; 4/16 – Nino Hasandedic, Kansas City.

Entering its fourth decade of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 144,000 at nine universities, four of which are located in top 58 U.S. metro populations (Detroit, Indianapolis, Kansas City and Omaha). Member institutions include: Fort Wayne (Indiana-Purdue-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), Kansas City (University of Missouri-Kansas City), North Dakota State University, Oakland University, Omaha (University of  Nebraska Omaha), the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced 54 All-Americans, 37 Academic All-America selections and seven NCAA Championships. For more information about the league and its history, visit to "See The Summit" or follow on Twitter @thesummitleague.