SDSU’s Herdliska, WIU’s Ira Earn #SummitSB Weekly Honors

SDSU’s Herdliska, WIU’s Ira Earn #SummitSB Weekly Honors

ELMHURST, Ill. – South Dakota State infielder Ali Herdliska was named Summit League Players of the Week while Western Illinois' pitcher Emily Ira earned the league's Pitcher of the Week award for their performances during the week of Mar. 6-12.

S0. // IF // Solon, Iowa

  • Named Summit League Player of the Week for the second time in her career and season
  • Recorded .455 (15-for-33) average over the weekend with a .486 on-base percentage and .848 slugging percentage
  • Drove in 14 runs with six doubles, two triples and one home run in 10 games while scoring eight times
  • Had five multi-hit games and four multi-RBI games
  • Currently ranks first in the league in RBI (26) and third in batting average (.351)

Also nominated: Maria Palmegiani, Fort Wayne; Maggie Good, IUPUI; Zoe Stavrou, North Dakota State; Kelsey Marlow, Western Illinois

Previous honorees: Feb. 13 – Brittney Morse, South Dakota State; Feb. 20 – Kelly Pattison, Omaha; Feb. 27 – Shelby Keil, South Dakota; Mar. 5 – Maggie Good, IUPUI

So. // P // Iowa City, Iowa

  • Earned her first Summit League Pitcher of the Week award this season and second in her career
  • Set a program record of 19 strikeouts in the victory over Oakland
  • Surrendered 10 base-hits in 23 innings, finished the weekend with an ERA of 0.61 and tallied 40 strikeouts
  • Currently tied for first in the league in ERA (1.99) and is second in strikeouts (87)

Also nominated: Bailey Benefiel, Fort Wayne; Jacquelyn Sertic, North Dakota State; Abby Deane, South Dakota State

Previous honorees: Feb. 13 – Jacquelyn Sertic, North Dakota State; Feb. 20 - Jacquelyn Sertic, North Dakota State; Feb. 27 – Jacquelyn Sertic, North Dakota State; Mar. 5 – Laura Roecker, Omaha

In its fourth decade of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 120,000 at nine institutions, including four located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced eight NCAA Champions along with over 75 Academic All-Americans, 65 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. In 2014-15, The Summit League ranked first for NCAA Graduation Success Rate in women's basketball and second in baseball. For more information about the league and to "See The Summit", visit website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague and watch the weekly "Inside The Summit League" show at 


NDSU Blanks Ole Miss 1-0
February 12, 2017 NDSU Blanks Ole Miss 1-0