North Dakota State Wins Ninth #SummitSB Championship In Ten Years

North Dakota State Wins Ninth #SummitSB Championship In Ten Years

The Basics

Score: No. 1 North Dakota State 6, No. 2 South Dakota State 1

Records: North Dakota State (33-17), South Dakota State (34-16)

Location: Ellig Sports Complex – Fargo, N.D.

FARGO, N.D. – No. 1 North Dakota State relied on a six-run third inning and dominate pitching from Jacquelyn Sertic to defeat No. 2 South Dakota State 6-1 Saturday afternoon at Ellig Sports Complex. The Bison collected their ninth tournament title in the past ten years and their fifth in-a-row.

South Dakota State's Abbey Murphy picked up right where she left off yesterday, clocking a home run to left center in the bottom of the first to put the Jackrabbits on top. Murphy recorded the three-run homer in SDSU's elimination semifinal to get the blue and yellow to the Championship.

The Bison would not be denied, however, and collected six runs to take a commanding lead in the top of the third. Stephanie Soriano reached on an error and Bre Beatty walked, setting up Vanessa Andersen to clobber a three-run home run to right center. Julia Luciano then earned a base hit and Madison Camacho singled to the infield, allowing pinch-hitter Dani Renner to follow in Andersen's suit and hit a three-run homer. Taylor Compton entered for the Jackrabbits and was able to escape the third with no further damage.

Sertic took the game over from the mound, finishing the day with 12 strikeouts. She retired the final 15 SDSU batters in-a-row to prevent the Jackrabbits from threatening. After earning the no-hitter yesterday, the Pitcher of the Year allowed only three hits today. The senior right-hander earned tournament MVP honors for her efforts. She recorded double-digit strikeouts for the 18th time in 2018 and the 36th time in her historic career.

All-Tournament Team

  • Christy Warnock, South Dakota
  • Jasmine Lara, Western Illinois
  • Maria Palmegiani, Fort Wayne
  • Bailey Benefiel, Fort Wayne
  • Aubrey Hacke, Omaha
  • Jessica Nelson, Omaha
  • Emma Dargy, Omaha
  • Abbey Murphy, South Dakota State
  • Julia Andersen, South Dakota State
  • Madison Hope, South Dakota State
  • Ali Herdliska, South Dakota State
  • Jacquelyn Sertic, North Dakota State, MVP
  • Dani Renner, North Dakota State
  • Tabby Heinz, North Dakota State
  • Vanessa Anderson, North Dakota State
  • Zoe Stavrou, North Dakota State

Turning Point

  • In the top of the third, All-Tournament selection Renner clocked a three-run home run to give the Bison a 6-1 lead they would not relinquish.

Inside The Box Score

  • The Summit League set a new-record for championship attendance with 507 fans visiting the Ellig Sports Complex for the final competition.
  • Sertic collected double-digit strikeouts for the 18th time this year and 36th time in her career. Her 12 strikeouts today rank tied-for-fifth in a #SummitSB tournament contest.
  • Stavrou led the Bison going 2-for-4 with a double.
  • Abbey Murphy paced the Jackrabbits, hitting 2-for-3 with a homer.
  • SDSU left four on base, compared to the 10 by NDSU.

News and Notes

  • North Dakota State earned its ninth #SummitSB tournament crown in the past ten years. The Bison have won the past five-in-a-row.
  • NDSU collected its seventh regular season title this year. The green and yellow entered the final regular season series in third, but were able to win all three against Western Illinois at home to claim the crown.
  • The Bison placed five on the All-Summit League teams, with two on the first and three on the second.
  • NDSU and SDSU split the regular season matchup this year in Sioux Falls. Sertic earned the win in the first, leading the Bison to the 9-2 win. Taylor Compton pitched the victory in the second for the Jackrabbits, with Madison Hope collecting the save (11-3 in five innings). The last game in the series was canceled due to weather.
  • In the semifinal matchup with SDSU, Sertic recorded 15 strikeouts, which is tied-for-most in a single #SummitSB tournament game. The performance was her first seven-inning, second-career, no-no.
  • Jacquelyn Sertic collects the win and moves her record to an impressive 25-9.
  • Madison Hope falls to 21-8.
  • The last time there was a single game to decide the #SummitSB Championship was in 2016 when NDSU defeated IUPUI 10-1 in six innings.
  • Jacquelyn Sertic currently ranks third on The Summit League all-time list with 79 career wins. She also ranks third with 936 career strikeouts.

Up Next

North Dakota State earns The Summit League's automatic qualifier to the NCAA Softball Championship.

The 2018 NCAA Division I Softball Championship bracket will be announced Sunday, May 13 at 10 p.m. ET on ESPN2.

The Division I Softball Championship provides for a field of 64 teams to compete in the national tournament. Of the 64 teams, 32 teams will receive automatic qualification with the remaining best 32 teams selected on an at-large basis by the Division I Softball Committee. Sixteen teams will be seeded and each of the seeded teams will be placed at one of the regional sites.

Through 35 years of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of nearly 100,000 at eight institutions, including three located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University with the University of North Dakota becoming an official member on July 1, 2018. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced nine NCAA Champions along with over 90 Academic All-Americans, nearly 100 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit www.thesummitleague.orgwebsite, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague.