SDSU’s Kocourek, USD’s Hertting Capture Weekly Diving Honors

South Dakota State's Clark Kocourek and South Dakota's Greysen Hertting
South Dakota State's Clark Kocourek and South Dakota's Greysen Hertting

ELMHURST, Ill. – South Dakota State's Clark Kocourek and South Dakota's Greysen Hertting were named the Men's and Women's Divers of the Week for their performances Nov. 5-11.

Clark Kocourek, South Dakota State
Sr. // Omaha, Neb.
Kocourek earns his first career Diver of the Week honor after sweeping the diving events to help South Dakota State defeat league rival South Dakota, 161-81.  The senior won the three-meter dive with a score of 319.80, the second-best league total this season and just shy of an NCAA Zone cut.  He also took first in the one-meter with 274.72 points, ranking third in the league.

Also nominated: Cody Watts, IUPUI.

Previous honorees: 10/15 – Doug Ogilvie, Western Illinois; 10/22 – Dustin Gens, South Dakota; 10/29 – Ross Edfort, Denver; 11/5 – Connor Florand, South Dakota State.

Greysen Hertting, South Dakota

Fr. // Appleton, Wis.
Hertting collects her third Diver of the Week award this season after winning both diving events against league foe South Dakota State.  In the one-meter dive, the Appleton, Wis., native won with a NCAA Zone standard score of 269.48, while in the three-meter she claimed first place with a score of 263.85.  Both scores rank second in the league this season.

Previous honorees: 10/15 – Greysen Hertting, South Dakota; 10/22 – Greysen Hertting, South Dakota; 10/29 – Dana Gau, Denver; 11/5 – Cat Badillo, Denver.

In its fourth decade of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 120,000 at eight institutions, including three located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced eight NCAA Champions, 62 All-Americans and 50 Academic All-America selections.

Follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague, @summithoops and @summitchamps