Denver Men, Women Claim Third Straight #SummitSD Championships

Denver Men, Women Claim Third Straight #SummitSD Championships

Day Four Results | Final Results | 2016 Swimming & Diving Championships Page

The Basics
Team Champions: M – Denver | W – Denver
Location: IU Natatorium – Indianapolis, Ind.

INDIANAPOLIS – After the final evening of the 2016 Summit League Swimming and Diving Championships, it was the University of Denver who raised both the men's and women's team trophies for the third consecutive year. The Pioneers set six individual Summit League records Saturday, bringing their four-day meet total to 16 championship records.

IUPUI finished in second on the men's side, helped by Jonathan Stoller, who became just the second swimming league champion in program history, and first since 2004. The Jags were followed by South Dakota State in third. For the women, South Dakota State finished in second, with South Dakota finishing in third after a strong final night.

Dylan Bunch broke his own record in the 1,650 freestyle (14:54.73) and was named Swimming Championship MVP. Bunch, a two-time All-American in the event, becomes the first male in Summit League history to win the 1,650 freestyle three times. His two individual titles at this year's championships increases his career total to seven, putting him in a tie for sixth all time. Bunch's teammate Amanda Sanders was named Women's Swimming Championship MVP after picking up two individual titles at the meet, pushing her individual career total to four.

South Dakota junior diver Greysen Hertting claimed the three-meter diving title to go along with the one-meter she took home Thursday night. She becomes the first female diver in league history to sweep both boards in three consecutive seasons, earning Diving Championship MVP honors.

DU frosh Andison Bailey, owner of two league titles and two league records, was named Newcomer of the Championship. Teammate Kyle Ewoldt, along with two titles of his own, earned the same honor for the men. Pioneer head coach Brian Schrader was voted both Men's and Women's Coach of the Year for the third time in as many seasons.

IUPUI's Eric Barnes was named Men's Diving Coach of the Year and freshman Jaguar diver Krisztian Somhegyi earned the men's Diving Championship MVP. South Dakota's Kris Jorgensen was selected Women's Diving Coach of the Year.

News & Notes

  • Dylan Bunch of Denver became the first male swimmer in league history to win the 1,650 freestyle three times, posting a meet record of 14:54.73. The win moves his career total to seven, tying him for sixth on The Summit League career list.
  • Jonathan Stoller became just the second male Jaguar to become a Summit League swimming champion, and first since 2004, when he touched the wall first in the 200 breaststroke. Including relays, it is Stoller's fourth all-league honor of the meet.
  • Amanda Sanders of Denver set a new all-time Summit League record in the 200 breaststroke during the morning's prelim session (2:08.24). The win was her second of the meet and fourth of her career.
  • Denver's Maddie Myers broke the all-time Summit League record in the women's 1,650 freestyle with a time of 16:20.04. It is her second title at this year's championships and fourth of her career.
  • Two other Pioneers defended their event titles: Johanna Roas (100 freestyle) and Ray Bornman (100 freestyle).

Team Standings

1. Denver – 975.5
2. IUPUI – 642.5
3. South Dakota State – 529.5
4. Western Illinois – 443
5. South Dakota – 417
6. Eastern Illinois – 229.5

1. Denver – 1,066
2. South Dakota State – 534.5
3. South Dakota – 490
4. IUPUI – 489
5. Omaha – 424
6. Eastern Illinois – 213.5
7. Western Illinois – 169


Men's 1,650 Free – Dylan Bunch, Denver (14:54.73)*
Women's 1,650 Free – Maddie Myers, Denver (16:20.04)*

Men's 200 Back – Anton Loncar, Denver (1:42.39; Championship record of 1:41.39 set in prelims)*
Women's 200 Back – Morgan McCormick, Denver (1:54.47)

Men's 100 Free – Ray Bornman, Denver (43.08)*
Women's 100 Free – Johanna Roas, Denver (48.88)*

Men's 200 Breast – Jonathan Stoller, IUPUI (1:58.61)
Women's 200 Breast – Amanda Sanders, Denver (2:09.69; Championship record of 2:08.24 set in prelims)*

Men's 200 Butterfly – Kyle Ewoldt, Denver (1:47.26)
Women's 200 Butterfly – Heidi Bradley, Denver (1:59.21)

Women's Three-Meter Dive – Greysen Hertting, South Dakota (294.10)

Men's 400 Free – Denver (2:57.31)
Women's 400 Free – Denver (3:22.76)

*Summit League Championship record



Swimming Championship MVP
Dylan Bunch, Denver

Diving Championship MVP
Krisztian Somhegyi, IUPUI

Newcomer of the Championship
Kyle Ewoldt, Denver

Swimming Coach of the Year
Brian Schrader, Denver

Diving Coach of the Year
Eric Barnes, IUPUI


Swimming Championship MVP
Amanda Sanders, Denver

Diving Championship MVP
Greysen Hertting, South Dakota

Newcomer of the Championship
Bailey Andison, Denver

Swimming Coach of the Year
Brian Schrader, Denver

Diving Coach of the Year
Kris Jorgensen, South Dakota

Up Next
League teams will send divers to the NCAA Diving Zones, which take place March 7-9, in College Station, Texas (Zone D) and Flagstaff, Ariz., (Zone E) and March 10-12 in West Lafayette, Ind. (Zone C). Swimmers await NCAA selections to the 2016 NCAA Division I Men's and Women's Swimming and Diving Championships will take place in Atlanta, Ga., from March 16-26.