South Dakota Sweeps First 2018 #SummitSD Swimmer Awards

South Dakota Sweeps First 2018 #SummitSD Swimmer Awards


ELMHURST, Ill. – South Dakota's Charlie Mechling was named The Summit League Women's Swimmer of the Week for the first time in her career, while teammate Steve Wascom also earned his first career Men's Swimmer of the Week honor. Both clocked strong times at the Orange Bowl Swim Classic in the first meet of 2018.


So.  // Glenwood Springs, Colo.

  • Named Summit League Swimmer of the Week for the first time in her career
  • Touched fourth in the 200 IM (2:32.39) at the Orange Bowl Swim Classic
  • Helped her 200 medley relay finish sixth with a time of 2:11.39

Previous recipients: Oct. 10 – Sabrina Sabadeanu, South Dakota; Oct. 17 – Heidi Bradley, Denver; Oct. 24 – Morgan McCormick, Denver; Oct. 31 – Maddie Myers, Denver; Nov. 7 – Morgan Holt, South Dakota; Nov. 14 – Sabrina Sabadeanu, South Dakota; Nov. 21 – Erica Hagen, Western Illinois; Dec. 5 – Bailey Andison, Denver; Dec. 21 – Andi Johnston, Denver


Sr. // Katy, Texas

  • Collected his first career Swimmer of the Week award
  • Finished fourth in the 100 breast with a time of 1:07.32 at the Orange Bowl Swim Classic
  • Part of the 200 medley relay that touched fourth (1:50.36)

Previous recipients: Oct. 10 – Dylan Kirar, Valparaiso; Oct. 17 – Sid Farber, Denver; Oct. 24 – Stephen Calkins, Denver; Oct. 31 – Colin Gilbert, Denver; Nov. 7 – Hunter Padgett, South Dakota; Nov. 14 – Hunter Padgett, South Dakota; Nov. 21 – Matt Jacobs, Eastern Illinois; Dec. 5 – Sid Farber, Denver; Dec. 21 – Adriel Sanes, Denver

Through 35 years of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of nearly 100,000 at eight institutions, including three located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University with the University of North Dakota becoming an official member on July 1, 2018. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced nine NCAA Champions along with over 90 Academic All-Americans, nearly 100 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague.