NDSU Men and Women Capture Second Consecutive #SummitITF Titles

NDSU Men and Women Capture Second Consecutive #SummitITF Titles


The Basics

Team Champions: M – North Dakota State | W – North Dakota State
Location: Sanford-Jackrabbit Athletic Complex – Brookings, S.D.

Brookings, S.D. –  North Dakota State swept the men's and women's Summit League Indoor Track & Field Championship titles for the second-consecutive season Saturday (Feb. 25) at the Sanford-Jackrabbit Athletic Complex on the campus of South Dakota State University in Brookings, S.D.

The Bison women finished with 226 points, and have extended their league record after winning their 10th consecutive Summit League Indoor Track & Field title. South Dakota finished second, and kept North Dakota State to their closest margin of victory (19.5 points) since their win-streak began in 2007-08. South Dakota State placed third with 128 points, followed by Oral Roberts (46), Western Illinois (26.50), Omaha (12), and IUPUI and Fort Wayne (9) to out the women's standings.   

The men's title would be decided by the final event of the afternoon, as North Dakota State led South Dakota State 184 to 183.5 heading into the 4x400 relay. The Bison finished second in the event and edged the Jackrabbits in the final standings, 192-189.50. South Dakota placed third overall with 123.50 points, followed by Oral Roberts (88), Western Illinois (35), and IUPUI (26).

An additional six League records were broken on day two, after five were broken on day one. For the men: South Dakota State's Joel Reichow (5,000-meter run), Western Illinois' Malachi Adams (200-meter dash), and the Oral Roberts 4x400 team. For the women: North Dakota State's Amy Andrushko (800-meter run), Morgan Milbrath (400-meter dash), and the Bison 4x400 relay team.

News & Notes

  • A total of 11 Championship record were set during the two-day event, including the 200-meter dash twice (ORU's Omeiza Akerele – Prelims; WIU's Malachi Adams – Finals) and the 5,000-meter run. The 200-meter had not been broken since 1990, and the 5,000-meter since 1989.
  • ORU's men's 4x400 team won its third consecutive title, while North Dakota State's Alex Renner defended his shot put title and teammate Ryan Enerson won the heptathlon for the second year in a row.
  • North Dakota State's Katelyn Weimerskirch won her third straight weight throw title, while her teammate Amy Andrushko defended her 800-meter title. The Bison women's 4x400 team has now won the 4x400 five years in a row, while South Dakota's Shanice Cannigan captured her second consecutive 60-meter hurdles crown.
  • For the first time in Summit League History, both the men's and women's newcomer of the year also won field championship MVP. On the men's side was South Dakota State's Bryant Courter, and on the women's side was South Dakota's Samara Spencer.

Team Standings

1. North Dakota State – 192
2. South Dakota State – 189.50
3. South Dakota – 123.50
4. Oral Roberts – 88
5. Western Illinois – 35
6. IUPUI – 26

1. North Dakota State – 226
2. South Dakota – 206.50
3. South Dakota State - 128
4. Oral Roberts – 46
5. Western Illinois – 26.50
6. Omaha - 12
7. IUPUI - 9
7. Fort Wayne - 9


Men's 60-Meter Dash – Malachi Adams, Western Illinois (6.71)
Women's 60-Meter Dash – Carly Carper (7.57)

Men's 200-Meter Dash – Malachi Adams, Western Illinois (21.34)*
Women's 200-Meter Dash – Rose Jackson, North Dakota State (24.21)

Men's 400-Meter Dash – D'Khari Hicks, Oral Roberts (47.06)
Women's 400-Meter Dash – Morgan Milbrath, North Dakota State (53.58)*

Men's 800-Meter Run – Alejandro Sanchez, South Dakota State (1:53.60)
Women's 800-Meter Run – Amy Andrushko, North Dakota State (2:08.74)*

Men's Mile Run – Joel Reichow, South Dakota State (4:16.63)
Women's Mile Run – Taylor Janssen, North Dakota State (4:53.94)

Men's 3,000 Meter Run – Kyle Burdick, South Dakota State (8:09.92)*
Women's 3,000 Meter Run – Rachel King, South Dakota State (9:34.21)

Men's 5,000-Meter Run – Joel Reichow, South Dakota State (14:24.17)*
Women's 5,000-Meter Run – Rachel King, South Dakota State (16:54.68)

Men's 60-Meter Hurdles – Jay Cooper, South Dakota (8.14)
Women's 60-Meter Hurdles – Shanice Cannigan, South Dakota (8.51)

Men's Long Jump – Bryant Courter, South Dakota State (23' 8"/7.21m)
Women's Long Jump – Rose Jackson, North Dakota State (19' 7.5"/5.98m)

Men's Triple Jump – Jaden Purnell, Oral Roberts (48' 11.75" / 14.93m)
Women's Triple Jump – Kirsten Burnett, Oral Roberts (38' 11.75" / 11.88m)

Men's High Jump – Zach Koosman, South Dakota State (6' 11" / 2.11m)
Women's High Jump – Samara Spencer, South Dakota (5' 7" / 1.70m)

Men's Shot Put – Alex Renner, North Dakota State (62' 5" / 19.02m)
Women's Shot Put – Danielle Waldner, South Dakota (53' 2.25" / 16.21m)

Men's Weight Throw – Payton Otterdahl, North Dakota State (67' 4.75"/20.54m)
Women's Weight Throw – Katelyn Weimerskirch, North Dakota State (65' 00"/19.81m)

Men's Pole Vault – Chris Nilsen, South Dakota (18' 5.50"/5.63m)*
Women's Pole Vault – Emily Brigham and Madison Mills, South Dakota (13' 5" / 4.09m)

Men's Heptathlon – Ryan Enerson, North Dakota State (5,103 points)
Women's Pentathlon – Rose Jackson, North Dakota State (4,077 points)*

Men's Distance Medley Relay – South Dakota State (10:10.52)
Women's Distance Medley Relay – North Dakota State (11:50.01)*

Men's 4x400-Meter Relay – Oral Roberts (3:11.27)*
Women's 4x400-Meter Relay – North Dakota State (3:44.22)*

*Summit League Championship Record



Track Championship MVP – Joel Reichow, SDSU

Field Championship MVP – Bryant Courter, SDSU

Newcomer of the Championship – Bryant Courter, SDSU

Co-Coaches of the Year – Don Larson – NDSU & Rod DeHaven – SDSU



Track Championship MVP – Amber Eichkorn, USD

Field Championship MVP – Samara Spencer, USD

Newcomer of the Championship – Samara Spencer, USD

Co-Coaches of the Year – Stevie Keller - NDSU


Up Next
League teams will await to see who qualifies for the NCAA Indoor Track and Field Finals. Qualifiers are scheduled to be announced, Tuesday, Feb. 28­. The NCAA Division I Indoor Track & Field Championships will be held in College Station, Texas March 10-11.