NDSU Men and Women Sweep #SummitOTF Championships

NDSU Men and Women Sweep #SummitOTF Championships

The Basics

Team Champions: M – North Dakota State | W – North Dakota State
Location: Schlanser Track – Fargo, N.D.

FARGO, N.D. – The North Dakota State men's and women's track and field teams both extended their league record win-streaks at The Summit League Track and Field Championship Saturday at Schlanser Track.

For the third consecutive year, the North Dakota State women scored a Summit League Championship meet record of 335 points en route to their record-setting 10th victory. South Dakota placed second with 241 points, and South Dakota State took third with 107.5 points. Western Illinois finished fourth with 43.5 points, followed by Oral Roberts (33 points), Omaha (32 points), IUPUI (13 points), and Fort Wayne (12 points) to round out the poll.

The Bison men collected 253 points on their way to victory. Just five points separated South Dakota State (199) and South Dakota (194) for second and third place. Oral Roberts finished fourth with 93 points followed by Western Illinois (41) and IUPUI (26).

A total of six championship records fell on the final day of competition.

North Dakota State's Katelyn Weimerskirch won her fourth women's discus title with a championship record-throw of 181' 00"/55.16m, while her teammates Taylor Janssen (1500m run – 4:26.89) and Alexis Woods (400m dash – 52.99) blazed through their track events in record time.

The Oral Roberts men's 4x400 relay team of James Kenneth, Omeiza Akerele, Malau Aobakwe, and D'Khari Hicks won with a record-time of 3:11.06, while the South Dakota 4x100 relay squad of Jack Thony, Joe Reagan, Sam Clark, and Gawain Williams crossed the finish line in 40.41 to set a new meet record.

The Coyotes' Chris Nilsen cleared 18' 1"/5.51m in the men's pole vault to set a new championship mark in the event.

News & Notes

  • A total of 12 Summit League Championship records were set during the three-day event, including Oral Roberts' D'Khari Hicks' 200-meter prelim time of 20.76
  • Katelyn Weimerskirch (164'1"/50.01m) of North Dakota State became the first female in Championship history to claim four discus titles, while teamate Amy
  • South Dakota's Gawain Williams captured his third consecutive men's 100-meter dash title, and becomes just the second men's athlete in championship history to win the event three times
  • Chris Nilsen of South Dakota became the fifth different Coyote to win the men's pole vault championship in the last five years
  • South Dakota's Amber Eichkorn captured the women's 5,000-meter run crown for the third time in her career. She is now the only female athlete in championship history to win three 10,000-meter events, and is the second to win three 5,000-meter titles
  • North Dakota State's Amy Andrushko claimed the women's 800-meter title for the third straight year, and joins Carrie McCann as the only two females to win the event three times

Team Standings

1. North Dakota State – 253
2. South Dakota State – 199
3. South Dakota – 194
4. Oral Roberts – 93
5. Western Illinois – 41
6. IUPUI – 26

1. North Dakota State – 335
2. South Dakota – 241
3. South Dakota State – 107.5
4. Western Illinois – 43.5
5. Oral Roberts – 33
6. Omaha – 32
7. IUPUI – 13
8. Fort Wayne – 12


Men's Discus – Steffan Stroh, North Dakota State (173' 9"/52.97m)
Women's Discus – Katelyn Weimerskirch, North Dakota State (181' 00"/55.16m)*

Men's Triple Jump – Bryant Courter, South Dakota State (50' 2.75"/15.31m)
Women's Triple Jump – Piper Jensen, North Dakota State (39' 3.75"/11.98m)

Men's Pole Vault – Chris Nilsen, South Dakota (18' 1"/5.51m)*

Men's 100 Meters – Gawain Williams, South Dakota (10.40)
Women's 100 Meters – Rose Jackson, North Dakota State (11.57)

Men's 200 Meters – Omeiza Akerele, Oral Roberts (20.92)
Women's 200 Meters – Rose Jackson, North Dakota State (23.57)

Men's 400 Meters – Omeiza Akerele, Oral Roberts (46.87)
Women's 400 Meters – Alexis Woods, North Dakota State (52.99)*

Men's 800 Meters – Alejandro Sanchez, South Dakota State (1:51.99)
Women's 800 Meters – Amy Andrushko, North Dakota State (2:08.06)

Men's 1,500 Meters – Kyle Burdick, South Dakota State (3:46.86)*
Women's 1,500 Meters – Taylor Janssen, North Dakota State (4:26.89)

Men's 5,000 Meters – Elliot Stone, North Dakota State (14:50.70)
Women's 5,000 Meters – Amber Eichkorn, South Dakota (17:06.76)

Men's 110-Meter Hurdles – Jay Cooper, South Dakota (14.36)
Women's 100-Meter Hurdles – Shanice Cannigan, South Dakota (13.76)

Men's 400-Meter Hurdles – Jay Cooper, South Dakota (52.46)
Women's 400-Meter Hurdles – Morgan Milbrath, North Dakota State (1:00.02)

Men's 4x100 – South Dakota (40.41)*
Women's 4x100 – North Dakota State (45.62)

Men's 4x400 – Oral Roberts (3:11.06)*
Women's 4x400 – North Dakota State (3:43.57)

*Summit League Championship Record


Newcomer of the Championship – Bryant Courter, South Dakota State
Track Championship MVP – Kyle Burdick, South Dakota State
Field Championship MVP – Bryant Courter, South Dakota State / Steffan Stroh, North Dakota State
Coach of the Year – Don Larson, North Dakota State

Newcomer of the Championship – Britny Kerr, South Dakota / Samara Spencer, South Dakota
Track Championship MVP – Amber Eichkorn, South Dakota
Field Championship MVP – Katelyn Weimerskirch, North Dakota State
Coach of the Year – Stevie Keller, North Dakota State

Up Next
League teams will await to see who qualifies for the NCAA Outdoor Track and Field East and West Preliminary Championships. Qualifiers are scheduled to be announced, Thursday, May 18­. The East Preliminary Championship will be held in Lexington, Ky., while the West Preliminary Championship is in Austin, Texas; both will take place May 25-27.

Celebrating its 35th season of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 120,000 at nine institutions, including four located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced eight NCAA Champions along with over 80 Academic All-Americans, 75 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit www.thesummitleague.org website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague and watch the weekly "Inside The Summit League" show at www.thesummitleague.org/itsl.