NDSU's Jackson Still in Contention for NCAA's "Woman of the Year"

NDSU's Rose Jackson
NDSU's Rose Jackson

ELMHURST, Ill. – The Summit League's 2017 Outdoor "Track Athlete of the Year" and recent North Dakota State graduate Rose Jackson is one of 145 student-athletes in consideration for this year's NCAA "Woman of the Year" award.

Jackson, who also took home the title of Summit League Indoor "Field Athlete of the Year" this past February, is most recently coming off a performance at USATF Championships at which she finished third among collegiate athletes and 12th overall in the women's heptathlon (5,499 pts.).

During her career as a Bison, Jackson was an 11-time league champion:

  • Heptathlon (2015-O)
  • 4x400m relay (2016-I)
  • 200m (2017-I)
  • 4x400m relay (2017-I)
  • Long jump (2017-I)
  • Pentathlon (2017-I)
  • 100m (2017-O)
  • 200m (2017-O)
  • 4x100m relay (2017-O)
  • Long Jump (2017-O)
  • Heptathlon (2017-O)

Additionally, Jackson is a two-time NCAA All-American and holds the following top-10 times/marks on the league's all-time list:

  • 100m – No. 7 (11.57)
  • 200m – No. 6 (23.57)
  • 4x100m – No. 4 (45.62)
  • 4x400m – No. 2 (3:33.38)
  • Long Jump – No. 2 (6.34m, 20' 9.75")
  • Heptathlon – No. 4 (5540 pts)

In early September, the NCAA's Woman of the Year Selection Committee will narrow the field once again, selecting 10 women from each of the three NCAA divisions. Later that month, the committee will finalize the top-three from each division and announce the winners on Oct. 22 at the annual Woman of the Year banquet in Indianapolis.

The NCAA Woman of the Year program has recognized graduating female student-athletes for excellence in academics, athletics, community service and leadership since its inception in 1991.


Through 35 years of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of nearly 100,000 at eight institutions, including three located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University with the University of North Dakota becoming an official member on July 1, 2018. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced nine NCAA Champions along with over 90 Academic All-Americans, nearly 100 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit www.thesummitleague.org website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague.


Oh, What a Weekend
June 11, 2018 Oh, What a Weekend
Three Teams Crowned
May 12, 2018 Three Teams Crowned