South Dakota, North Dakota earn indoor first weekly honors

South Dakota, North Dakota earn indoor first weekly honors

By: Aubrie Laufenberg
SIOUX FALLS, S.D. –After the opening weekend of the indoor track and field season saw a number of record-breaking performances by Summit League athletes, South Dakota's Zack Anderson and North Dakota's Molli Detloff earned Male and Female Athlete of the Week accolades, respectively. This is the first weekly accolades for both Anderson and Detloff.

Zack Anderson, South Dakota

Junior | Jumps

  • Won the SDSU Holiday Open high jump with a height of 7-01.50, which tied a 28-year-old USD program record
  • His height also ties the state of South Dakota collegiate record (all colleges in the state across all divisions)
  • Leads the NCAA in the high jump by 2.5 inches
  • Was the only athlete in opening weekend to clear seven feet

Also nominated: Bradley Dormeus (Oral Roberts), Sam Zenner (South Dakota State)

Molli Detloff, North Dakota

Senior | Throws

  • Broke her own school record in the weight throw (68-03.75) set at last year's Big Sky Conference Championship in the first competition of the 2018-19 season with a throw of 68-11
  • Placed third after finishing behind two of Minnesota's unattached athletes, one of which was the 2018 NCAA national champion in the weight throw and the other is a Second Team All-American in the event
  • Leads the country in the weight throw after opening weekend
  • Her 68-11 mark would have won the 2018 Summit League Indoor weight throw title by over three feet (65-10.5)

Also nominated: Olivia Coleman (Purdue Fort Wayne), Christina Ollison (Oral Roberts), Samara Spencer (South Dakota), Miatta Flemister-Smither (South Dakota State)

Follow The Summit League
SOCIAL: Twitter | Facebook | Instagram


Through 36 years of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of nearly 115,000 at nine institutions, including three located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), the University of North Dakota, North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, Purdue Fort Wayne (Purdue University Fort Wayne), the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced 12 NCAA Champions along with over 100 Academic All-Americans, nearly 125 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague.