Nineteen student-athletes earn USTFCCCA All-America honors

North Dakota State's Payton Otterdahl ended his career as a four-time First-Team All-American and a two-time NCAA champion.
North Dakota State's Payton Otterdahl ended his career as a four-time First-Team All-American and a two-time NCAA champion.

Full USTFCCCA Release

TULSA, Okla. – The Summit League had nineteen student-athletes earn All-America status for their respective performances at the 2019 NCAA Division I Outdoor Track & Field Championships announced Monday by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA). 

To achieve First-Team All-America status, student-athletes must finish among the top-8 of their respective events - including as a member of a relay team - at the NCAA Division I Outdoor Track & Field Championships. Those that finish between ninth and 16th place earn Second-Team All-America honors while Honorable Mention All-America is awarded to those student-athletes who finish 17th through 24th in their respective events. In total, the league had six First-Team All-America honors, three Second-Team All-America accolades and 12 Honorable Mention recipients.

North Dakota
Molli Detloff, First-Team All-America (Hammer)

North Dakota State
Amanda Levin, Honorable Mention (Heptathlon)
Akealy Moton, First-Team All-America (Shot Put), Honorable Mention (Javelin)
Bailey Retzlaff, Second-Team All-America (Hammer)

South Dakota
Lara Boman, Honorable Mention (Hammer)
Helen Falda, First-Team All-America (Pole Vault)

South Dakota State
Rachel King, Honorable Mention (3,000m Steeplechase)

North Dakota State
Brendan Artley, Honorable Mention (Javelin)
Payton Otterdahl, First-Team All-America (Shot Put & Discus)
Alex Talley, Honorable Mention (Shot Put & Hammer)
Kristoffer Thomsen, Second-Team All-America (Shot Put)

Oral Roberts
Jaden Purnell, Honorable Mention (Triple Jump)

South Dakota
Zack Anderson, Honorable Mention (High Jump)
Ben Hammer, Second-Team All-America (Discus)
Chris Nilsen, First-Team All-America (Pole Vault)

South Dakota State
Daniel Clarke, Honorable Mention (4x100 Relay)
Coby Hilton, Honorable Mention (4x100 Relay)
Manny Phoulom-Smith, Honorable Mention (4x100 Relay)
Sam Zenner, Honorable Mention (4x100 Relay)

Follow The Summit League
SOCIAL: Twitter | Facebook | Instagram


Through 36 years of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of nearly 115,000 at nine institutions, including three located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), the University of North Dakota, North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, Purdue Fort Wayne (Purdue University Fort Wayne), the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced 12 NCAA Champions along with over 100 Academic All-Americans, nearly 125 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague.