Summit League Announces Women's Soccer All-League Awards

Oakland's Kyla Kellermann and Kara Weber (photo by Mariusz Nowak) and Western Illinois' Laura Atkinson.
Oakland's Kyla Kellermann and Kara Weber (photo by Mariusz Nowak) and Western Illinois' Laura Atkinson.

Women's Soccer Championship Website | Bracket (PDF) | Championship Banquet Photo Gallery

ELMHURST, Ill. – The Summit League announced its women's soccer all-league awards winners at the annual banquet Thursday evening. Fort Wayne, North Dakota State and Oakland led the way with a total of four recipients each on the first and second teams.

The league's top awards went to Oakland's Kyla Kellermann and Kara Weber as the Offensive and Defensive Players of the Year, respectively. Western Illinois' Laura Atkinson won the league's first-ever Goalkeeper of the Year award, while South Dakota State's Diana Potterveld was named Freshman of the Year and Fort Wayne's Margaret Saurin was voted the Coach of the Year.

Kellermann becomes the first Oakland player since 2008 and sixth overall to win the league's Offensive Player of the Year award. The sophomore forward ended the regular season tied for the league-lead in both points (19) and goals (8). She also recorded three assists on the year, which is tied for eighth in the league. Kellermann recorded two mulit-goal matches this season, including scoring a hat trick in the season opener against Rochester College and netting both Golden Grizzly goals in the win at South Dakota. The Elmvale, Ontario, native earned two Offensive Player of the Week awards and started 16-of-17 matches on the year.

Weber earns Defensive Player of the Year honors after anchoring the Oakland backline that allowed six goals and had a goals against average of 0.75 in league matches, both tied for league-lows. A native of Calgary, Alberta, she recorded two assists, took six shots and started all 17 matches in the regular season. Weber has been named to the All-Summit League First Team the last three years and has been named a Defensive Player of the Week twice in her career. She becomes the third Golden Grizzly player to win the honor and first since 2006.

Atkinson collects the league's inaugural Goalkeeper of the Year award. The junior has allowed just seven goals on the year and made 56 saves for an .899 save percentage, sixth in the nation, in 980 minutes in net. Her 0.64 goals against average is second in The Summit League and is tied for first with six shutouts, three coming in league matches, and wins (8). She collected a season-high eight saves four times this season. Atkinson, an Oregon, Wis., native, earned three Defensive Player of the Week honors this season and has been an all-league performer all three seasons.

Potterveld is the Freshman of the Year after placing in a tie for first in the league in both goals (8) and points (19). She tallied three assists and was first among all league freshmen with 39 shots on the year. In the regular season finale at Omaha, Potterveld recorded South Dakota State's first hat trick since 2004 in the 6-1 win. She is also on a three-match streak of scoring the game-winning goal, a first in school history.

Saurin earns Coach of the Year honors after guiding her squad to a school record 5-2-1 league record and a second-place finish in the standings. The award is the first in her six years at the helm of the Fort Wayne program. Saurin also led the Mastodons to its first-ever appearance in the league tournament. Fort Wayne's nine wins on the year are tied for the most in a single-season in school history with the 2003 squad.

2012 All-Summit League Women's Soccer Teams
First Team
Tylar Allison, Fort Wayne, Sr., D
Danielle Archuleta, Omaha, Sr., F
Laura Atkinson, Western Illinois, Jr., GK
Katie Condon, Western Illinois, Sr., MF
Amber Davis, Western Illinois, Jr., D
Giselle Guzman, IUPUI, Jr., GK
Abigail Haelewyn, Oakland, Jr., MF
Kyla Kellermann, Oakland, So., F
Anisha Kinnarath, North Dakota State, So., F
Christa Nyblom, South Dakota State, Sr., MF
Diana Potterveld, South Dakota State, Fr., F
Kara Weber, Oakland, Sr., D

Second Team
Danielle Bishop, Fort Wayne, Sr., F
Sierra Bonham, North Dakota State, Fr., GK
Julianne Boyle, Oakland, Jr., MF
Holly Christian, North Dakota State, Sr., D
Arianne Mason, Fort Wayne, Sr., F
Kelli Parks, IUPUI, Sr., D
Dani Patterson, South Dakota State, Fr., D
Rhea Proctor, Fort Wayne, Sr., MF
Jenny Teslow, South Dakota, Jr., F
Sarah Todd, Kansas City, So., D
Jordyn Wallenborn, North Dakota State, Sr., MF

Freshmen Team
Sierra Bonham, North Dakota State, Fr., GK
Rachel Good, Fort Wayne, Fr., F
Erin Gill, Fort Wayne, Fr., MF
Brianne Horne, Oakland, Fr., D
Jamie Horne, Oakland, Fr., MF
Meghan Johnston, North Dakota State, Fr., D
Dani Patterson, South Dakota State, Fr., D
Sam Pavlika, Fort Wayne, Fr., GK
Diana Potterveld, South Dakota State, Fr., F
Hunter Wagoner, Kansas City, Fr., F
Hannah Wampler, Omaha, Fr., MF

Offensive Player of the Year
Kyla Kellermann, Oakland

Defensive Player of the Year
Kara Weber, Oakland

Goalkeeper of the Year
Laura Atkinson, Western Illinois

Freshman of the Year
Diana Potterveld, South Dakota State

Coach of the Year
Margaret Saurin, Fort Wayne

Entering its fourth decade of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 144,000 at nine universities, four of which are located in top 58 U.S. metro populations (Detroit, Indianapolis, Kansas City and Omaha). Member institutions include: Fort Wayne (Indiana-Purdue-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), Kansas City (University of Missouri-Kansas City), Omaha (University of  Nebraska Omaha), North Dakota State University, Oakland University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced 54 All-Americans, 37 Academic All-America selections and seven NCAA Championships. For more information about the league and its history, visit to "See The Summit" or follow on Twitter @thesummitleague.