Miller, Wolf Honored as Women's Soccer Players of the Week

North Dakota State's Lauren Miller and South Dakota State's McKenzie Wolf
North Dakota State's Lauren Miller and South Dakota State's McKenzie Wolf

ELMHURST, Ill. – North Dakota State's Lauren Miller was named The Summit League's Women's Soccer Offensive Player of the Week while South Dakota State's McKenzie Wolf was named the Defensive Player of the Week for their performances Oct. 28 – Nov. 3.

Lauren Miller, North Dakota State
Fr. // MF // St. Louis Park, Minn.

Miller collects her third Offensive Player of the Week honor this season after leading North Dakota State to a 3-1 win over Fort Wayne to secure the No. 3 seed in this weekend's tournament. The St. Louis Park, Minn., native scored the first Bison goal in the ninth minute as she took a pass from Anisha Kinnarath and netted it past the Fort Wayne goalie. The senior added an insurance goal in the 69th minute off a pass from Lizzie Lukas, recording her third brace of the season. For the week, Miller had four points (two goals) and four shots with three being on goal. She now has a team-high nine goals, five assists and 23 points this season.

Also nominated: Gaby Romo, Fort Wayne; Sierra Bryant, IUPUI; Megan Kingston, South Dakota State.

Previous honorees: 8/26 – Kristen Hamilton, DU; 9/3 – Jamie Karch, USD; 9/9 – Lauren Miller, NDSU; 9/16 – Kristen Hamilton, DU; Sept. 23 – Monica Bosiljevac, UNO; 9/30 – Kalli Shepler-Tucker, IUPUI; 10/7 – Anisha Kinnarath, NDSU; 10/14 – Lauren Miller, NDSU; 10/21 – Nicholette DiGiacomo, DU/Andie Lazzerini, IPFW; 10/28 – Nicholette DiGiacomo, DU. 

McKenzie Wolf, South Dakota State
Fr. // D // Rapid City, S.D.

Wolf earns her first career Defensive Player of the Week award after helping South Dakota State to a shutout of Fort Wayne last week. It was the Jackrabbits' sixth league shutout this season and 11th overall. She anchored a backline which allowed just five shots with only one being on goal in the game. Wolf also added an insurance goal in the 60th minute for SDSU.

Also nominated: Sarah Carlisle, IUPUI; Lauren Bennett, South Dakota.

Previous honorees: 8/26 – Cassidy Rey, DU/Laura Atkinson, WIU; 9/3 – Nicole Inskeep, SDSU; 9/9 – Cassidy Rey, DU; 9/16 – Cassidy Rey, DU/Nicole Inskeep, SDSU; 9/23 – Giselle Guzman, IUPUI; 9/30 – Amelia Davis, DU; 10/7 – Katie McNeary, SDSU; 10/14 – Dani Patterson, SDSU; 10/21 – Cassidy Rey, DU; 10/28 – Sam Pavlika, IPFW.

In its fourth decade of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 120,000 at eight institutions, including three located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced eight NCAA Champions, 62 All-Americans and 50 Academic All-America selections.

Follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague, @summithoops and @summitchamps