Summit League Announces Women’s Soccer All-League Awards

Denver's Kristen Hamilton, Jessy Battelli and Cassidy Rey
Denver's Kristen Hamilton, Jessy Battelli and Cassidy Rey

Women's Soccer Championship Website | Bracket (PDF) | Banquet Photos

ELMHURST, Ill. – The Summit League announced its women's soccer all-league teams and award winners at the annual banquet Thursday evening. Denver led the way with a total of 10 recipients on the first and second teams.

The league's top honors went to Denver's Kristen Hamilton and Jessy Battelli as the Offensive and Defensive Players of the Year, respectively. Denver's Cassidy Rey won the Goalkeeper of the Year award, while North Dakota State's Lauren Miller was named Freshman of the Year. Denver's Jeff Hooker and South Dakota State's Lang Wedemeyer were named the Coaches of the Year in The Summit League.

Hamilton collects the Offensive Player of the Year award after leading the league with 31 points (10 goals, 11 assists) in all matches. She also led the way with five assists in league contests and added three goals to finish second with 11 points. A senior from Littleton, Colo., Hamilton is second on her Pioneer squad with three game-winning goals and 61 shots for the year. The two-time Offensive Player of the Week leads a Denver offensive attack that is first in the league in six different offensive categories for league games. Named to the Mac Hermann Trophy Watch List at the beginning of the season, the forward was recently named a finalist for the Senior CLASS Award and Capital One Academic All-District.

Battelli is the Defensive Player of the Year after anchoring a Denver defensive line that surrendered just one goal in league play. As a team, the Pioneers had six league shutouts with 12 total in all matches, while recording a 0.14 goals against average against Summit League squads. Battelli led DU's defensive unit that limited league opponents to only 34 shots and 15 shots on goal. The senior from Golden, Colo., has added a goal and assist on the year for the Pioneers.

Rey earns the league's Goalkeeper of the Year award after allowing just one goal in seven league matches. She recorded a 0.19 goals against average in league play with 478:12 minutes in net for nationally-ranked Denver. The freshman netminder was also first in the league in save percentage at .917. In all matches, the four-time Defensive Player of the Week has a .899 save percentage which ranks third in the nation entering tournament play. Rey has recorded a pair of shutouts in league play and has a total of six on the year while making 62 saves.

Miller captures the Freshman of the Year honor after leading the North Dakota State offense with nine goals, five in league play, this season. A three-time Offensive Player of the Week winner, the St. Louis Park, Minn., native has also added an assist in league play for a total of 11 points, which is second the league. Miller has taken a total of 50 shots, 27 in league play, this season.

Hooker has propelled Denver to a No. 14 national ranking, the highest in women's soccer league history, entering tournament play and a 16-1-1 overall record this season with a league-leading 12 shutouts. After being selected first in the league's preseason poll, the Pioneers recorded a perfect 7-0-0 and first-place finish in the standings.

Wedemeyer earns his first career Coach of the Year award after guiding South Dakota State to a 6-1-0 league record and the No. 2 seed after being picked to finish fifth in the league's preseason poll. The Jackrabbits recorded 11 shutouts this season, six in league play, en route to an 11-4-2 record.

2013 All-Summit League Women's Soccer Teams
First Team
Jessy Battelli, Denver, Sr., D
Caylee Costello, South Dakota State, Sr., MF
Amber Davis, Western Illinois, Sr., D
Nicholette DiGiacomo, Denver, Sr., MF
Francesca Garzelloni, Denver, R-Fr., MF
Kristen Hamilton, Denver, Sr., F
Sam Harder, Denver, Jr., D
Anisha Kinnarath, North Dakota State, Jr., F
Lauren Miller, North Dakota State, Fr., F
Dani Patterson, South Dakota State, So., D
Cassidy Rey, Denver, Fr., GK 

Second Team
Sierra Bonham, North Dakota State, So., GK
Sarah Hall, Western Illinois, Jr., F
Sydney Hoareau, Fort Wayne, Jr., MF
Nicole Inskeep, South Dakota State, Fr., GK
Steph Jacobson, North Dakota State, Sr., MF
Cassidy Larson, Denver, Sr., D
Darci Miller, South Dakota State, Sr., MF
Nikki Pappalardo, Denver, Jr., F
Sara Riazi, Denver, Sr., D
Hannah Wampler, Omaha, So., D
Anna Willis, Denver, Jr., F

Freshmen Team
Ashley Adams, South Dakota State, Fr., D
Brooke Boothe, Denver, Fr., MF
Alyssa Fox, IUPUI, Fr., MF
Nicole Inskeep, South Dakota State, Fr., GK
Lauren Lawler, Omaha, Fr., D
Andie Lazzerini, Fort Wayne, Fr., F
Lauren Miller, North Dakota State, Fr., F
Shelby Raper, South Dakota State, Fr., F
Cassidy Rey, Denver, Fr., GK
McKenzie Wolf, South Dakota State, Fr., D
Amy Yang, North Dakota State, Fr., MF

Offensive Player of the Year
Kristen Hamilton, Denver

Defensive Player of the Year
Jessy Battelli, Denver

Goalkeeper of the Year
Cassidy Rey, Denver

Freshman of the Year
Lauren Miller, North Dakota State

Coaches of the Year
Jeff Hooker, Denver
Lang Wedemeyer, South Dakota State 

In its fourth decade of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 120,000 at eight institutions, including three located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced eight NCAA Champions, 62 All-Americans and 50 Academic All-America selections.

Follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague, @summithoops and @summitchamps