Women's Soccer Academic All-League Team Announced

Women's Soccer Academic All-League Team Announced

ELMHURST, Ill. – With the conclusion of the women's soccer season, the league has announced its Academic All-League Team as voted on by the eight institution's faculty athletics representatives and sports information directors.  A total of 12 student-athletes were named to the team and honored for their academic and athletic performances this season.

Denver, the regular season and tournament champions, placed a league-high three selections to the team. Jessy Battelli, a senior defender, has a 3.60 grade-point average (GPA) as a finance major. The Defensive Player of the Year anchored the Pioneers backline that allowed just one goal in league play and a total of 10 all year, along with a total of 13 shutouts. Kristen Hamilton, recently named to the Capital One Academic All-America First Team, is a finance major with a 3.70 GPA. The senior forward led the league in goals (14), assists (12) and points (40) in all matches this season. She was named The Summit League Tournament MVP and was selected as the league's Offensive Player of the Year. A junior midfielder, Anna Willis has a 3.55 GPA majoring in marketing. She tallied five goals and five assists this season with three each coming in league matches and was named first team all-league.

Omaha, South Dakota State and Western Illinois each placed a pair of student-athletes on the academic all-league team. Melanie McCormick and Logen Watts represented the Mavericks. McCormick, a biology major with a 4.00 GPA, was a Capital One Academic All-District selection and scored four goals with one assist this season. Watts, a senior defender with a 3.93 GPA majoring in business administration, anchored the Omaha defensive backline that produced two shutouts this season.

The Jackrabbits were represented by Caylee Costello and Diana Potterveld. A first team all-league and all-tournament team selection, Costello majors in health, physical education and recreation and has a 3.66 GPA. She scored three goals, two being game-winners, with one assist on the year. Potterveld, a sophomore forward, has a 4.00 GPA majoring in biology/pre-medicine. She led SDSU in shots on goal (19) and shots (34) and was tied for second in points (8), goals (3) and assists (2).

Amber Davis and Sarah Hall were named to the team from Western Illinois. Davis, a senior defender, was named first team all-league, earned Capital One Academic All-District Second Team honors and was a Senior CLASS Award semi-finalist. She has a 3.72 GPA majoring in exercise science/recreation, parks and tourism administration. Hall was a second team all-league honoree and has a 3.86 GPA as a recreation, parks and tourism administration major. She led the Leathernecks with five goals and 10 points this season.

IUPUI was represented by Kristin Pierce, who has a 3.99 GPA with a major in marketing. A senior defender, Pierce was named to the Capital One Academic All-American Second Team and finished the season with one goal from her backline position. North Dakota State's Sheri Fitzsimmons, a senior defender, had one assist and was a key member of a Bison defense that posted four shutouts this season. She is a pharmaceutical sciences major with a 3.79 GPA. Mackenzie Viktor, a junior goalkeeper for South Dakota, has a 3.96 GPA majoring in political science/criminal justice. She was named to the Capital One Academic All-District First Team and posted a 1.37 goals against average this year.

To be eligible for the Academic All-League team, a student-athlete must have a cumulative grade point average (GPA) of at least 3.30 (on a 4.0 scale), completed at least one full academic year at the current institution and participated in 50 percent of their team's competitions.  The women's soccer all-league teams are made up of the 11 student-athletes receiving the most votes with all ties standing.

Name School Yr. Pos. GPA Major
Jessy Battelli Denver Sr. D 3.60


Caylee Costello South Dakota State Sr. MF 3.66 Health, Physical Education & Recreation
Amber Davis Western Illinois Sr. D 3.72 Exercise Science/Recreation, Parks & Tourism Administration
Sheri Fitzsimmons North Dakota State Sr. D 3.79 Pharmaceutical Sciences
Sarah Hall Western Illinois Jr. F 3.86 Recreations, Parks & Tourism Administration
Kristen Hamilton Denver Sr. F 3.70 Finance
Melanie McCormick Omaha Sr. F 4.00 Biology
Kristin Pierce IUPUI Jr. D 3.99 Marketing
Diana Potterveld South Dakota State So. F 4.00 Biology/Pre-Medicine
Mackenzie Viktor South Dakota Jr. GK 3.96 Political Science/Criminal Justice
Logen Watts Omaha Sr. D 3.93 Business Administration
Anna Willis Denver Jr. MF 3.55 Marketing













In its fourth decade of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 120,000 at eight institutions, including three located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced eight NCAA Champions, 62 All-Americans and 50 Academic All-America selections.

Follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague, @summithoops and @summitchamps