Late Goal Lifts South Dakota State to #SummitWSOC Title

South Dakota State Championship Team Picture (photo by Evert Nelson)
South Dakota State Championship Team Picture (photo by Evert Nelson)

2014 Women's Soccer Championship | Bracket (PDF)

The Basics
Score: No. 1 South Dakota State 1, No. 3 Denver 1 [SDSU 5-4 in PKs]
Records: South Dakota State, (10-7-2), Denver (10-8-2)
Location: CIBER Field - Denver, Colo.

DENVER -- No. 1 South Dakota State captured The Summit League Championship title in penalty kicks after a 1-1 contest through two overtimes. The Jackrabbits edged the Pioneers by a 5-4 margin in penalty kicks.

Trailing 1-0, South Dakota State's Nicole Hatcher tied the match with just 31 seconds remaining to send it to overtime. Delaney Ratcliffe sent the ball into the box from the left side near midfield where it was gathered by Hatcher who slipped it past Denver goalie Tina Vargas.

After two scoreless overtime periods, Denver and South Dakota State were tied 4-4 following five rounds in the penalty kicks session. DU's Sam Harder had her shot stopped by SDSU goalie Nicole Inskeep setting up Tournament MVP Tori Poole for the game-winner.

Brooke Boothe scored the lone Pioneer goal on a header off a corner kick from Stella Norman in the 22nd minute.

Turning Point
With 31 seconds left in regulation, South Dakota State's Nicole Hatcher scored the equalizer off a pass over the top from Delaney Ratcliffe, sending the match to overtime where the Jackrabbits would eventually prevail in penalty kicks.

Inside The Box Score

  • For the second-straight game, Denver held its opponent to just one shot in the first half.
  • Denver held an 11-7 advantage in shots and 7-4 edge in corner kicks.
  • Denver goalkeeper Tina Vargas had four stops while South Dakota State goalie Nicole Inskeep had three saves.
  • The goals by DU's Brooke Boothe and SDSU's Nicole Hatcher were both their fourth of the season.

News & Notes

  • South Dakota State captures its second Summit League Championship title in program history (2008).
  • The Jackrabbits improve to 2-1 all-time in championship game matches.
  • This was the first time since 2006 the championship title match was decided on penalty kicks.
  • Denver dropped its first Summit League Tournament match and now sits at 3-1 all-time.
  • South Dakota State becomes the third-straight No. 1 seed to win The Summit League Championship title.

All-Tournament Team
Brooke Boothe, Denver
Francesca Garzelloni, Denver
Nicole Hatcher, South Dakota State
Nicole Inskeep, South Dakota State
Anisha Kinnarath, North Dakota State
Tori Poole, South Dakota State (MVP)
Diana Potterveld, South Dakota State
Anna Rode, IUPUI
Kalli Shepler-Tucker, IUPUI
Tina Vargas, Denver
Tristyn Walczak, North Dakota State

Up Next
South Dakota State earns The Summit League's automatic berth into the NCAA Tournament. The NCAA Selection Show will air Nov. 10 at 3:30 p.m. CT on