South Dakota State Claims Third Straight #SummitWSOC Title

South Dakota State Claims Third Straight #SummitWSOC Title

2016 Women's Soccer Championship Page Bracket (PDF)

The Basics
Score:  No. 3 South Dakota State 0, No. 4 Oral Roberts 0 (SDSU wins SO 3-2)
Records: South Dakota State (10-7-3), Oral Roberts (11-9-2)
Location: Dacotah Field – Fargo, N.D.

FARGO, N.D. – The No. 3 seed South Dakota State Jackrabbits won its third consecutive Summit League Women's Soccer Championship Saturday afternoon as it defeated the No. 4 seed Oral Roberts 3-2 in a shootout. With the victory, SDSU receives the league's automatic berth into the NCAA Tournament.

While neither team placed a shot on goal in the first half, both teams saw their best scoring chance come in the second half. In the 80th minute, Oral Roberts senior forward Tahlor Lyman fed a lead pass to sophomore forward Chloe Basnett who took a heavy shot in front of the net, but had it saved by South Dakota freshman goalkeeper Maggie Smither.

With three seconds remaining in the second half, South Dakota State junior midfielder Tori Poole rifled a shot on goal, but Oral Roberts sophomore goaltender Ryliegh Bohnenstiehl was there to make the save and send the game into overtime.

After two overtime periods, the 2016 Summit League Champion would be decided by a shootout.

Up 2-0 in their second shootout of the tournament, South Dakota State seemed to have secured their third straight League title. Smither was perfect through three rounds for the Jackrabbits, until Oral Roberts netted two straight goals to tie the game. With the deciding shot at hand, Poole put it past Bohnenstiehl, and gave the Jackrabbits their third straight berth in the NCAA Tournament.

The loss ends the Golden Eagles season and snaps their six-game win streak.

Inside The Box Score

  • South Dakota State held a 14-5 shot advantage in the match, with the Jackrabbits placing four on net to Oral Roberts' one.
  • The match ended Oral Roberts six-game win streak dating back to Oct. 14 against Fort Wayne

News & Notes

  • South Dakota State earned their third straight Summit League Tournament title and fourth in program history
  • The Jackrabbits are the first team to win three consecutive League titles since Oakland from 2001-03
  • This is the second time in league history that the No. 3 seed claimed the league tournament title (both by SDSU)
  • SDSU is now 8-3-2 all-time in the tournament. ORU's record moves to 5-7-1

All-Tournament Team
Ryliegh Bohnenstiehl, Oral Roberts
Natalie Fenske, North Dakota State
Kelli Keller, Oral Roberts
Lindsee Larsen, South Dakota State
Nelly Mamabolo, Oral Roberts
Lilly McSwain, Denver
Kyli Nelson, South Dakota State
Angelica Pacheco, Denver
Tori Poole, South Dakota State
Maggie Smither, South Dakota State (MVP)
Amy Yang, North Dakota State

Up Next
South Dakota State earns The Summit League's automatic berth into the NCAA Tournament. The NCAA Selection Show will air Nov. 7 at 3:30 p.m. CT on

Celebrating its 35th season of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 120,000 at nine institutions, including four located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced eight NCAA Champions along with over 80 Academic All-Americans, 75 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague and watch the weekly "Inside The Summit League" show at



Denver Upsets Arizona State
September 4, 2016 Denver Upsets Arizona State