Six #SummitWSOC Programs Earn United Soccer Coaches Team Academic Award

Six #SummitWSOC Programs Earn United Soccer Coaches Team Academic Award

KANSAS CITY, Mo. / ELMHURST, Ill. – The Denver, Fort Wayne, IUPUI, North Dakota State, Omaha and South Dakota State women's soccer programs earned the United Soccer Coaches (formerly the NSCAA) Team Academic Award for exemplary performance in the classroom as a team during the 2016 – 17 academic year.

College Team Academic Award recipients are active members of the United Soccer Coaches College Services Program with a composite grade point average of 3.0 or better on a 4.0 scale for all players on the roster.

A total of 814 collegiate teams (282 men, 532 women) earned the Team Academic Award, including 195 schools who had both their men's and women's programs among the recipients.

South Dakota hosts Denver, Omaha travels to South Dakota State, and Oral Roberts makes a trip to Fargo to continue #SummitWSOC league play tonight.

Through 35 years of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of nearly 100,000 at eight institutions, including three located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University with the University of North Dakota becoming an official member on July 1, 2018. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced nine NCAA Champions along with over 90 Academic All-Americans, nearly 100 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague.