Denver to Battle Colorado in First Round of NCAA Tournament

Denver to Battle Colorado in First Round of NCAA Tournament

 2017 NCAA Women's Soccer Championship Bracket

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. // -- Denver women's soccer learned Monday via the NCAA Selection Show it will travel to local Colorado this weekend to battle the Buffaloes in the opening round of the NCAA Tournament. The Pioneers and Buffs will square off Sunday, Nov. 12 at 12:00 p.m. (MT) from Prentup Field in the first round.

Denver (11-8-1) enters the tournament having not lost in regulation since the end of September. The NCAA Tournament bid is Denver's 10th since turning Division I in 1998, and Saturday's league tournament title was the Pioneers' ninth, all under 26th-year head coach Jeff Hooker.

The Pioneers, one of 64 teams nationwide in the tournament, earned The Summit League's automatic bid after claiming the conference tournament title on Saturday, Nov. 4, defeating host North Dakota State 2-1 in dramatic fashion. The two teams met in the first round of Denver's last NCAA Tournament appearance, a match Colorado won in the 84th minute 1-0 at Denver. Colorado also took the 2017 meeting between the two squads on September 16.

The winner of Friday's contest will advance to face either top seed in the region North Carolina or High Point in the second round, held Nov. 17.  That round, along with the third round (Nov. 19) and quarterfinals (Nov. 24 or 25) will be held at to-be-determined campus sites before the Women's College Cup semifinals and National Championship, Dec. 1 and 3, respectively, are played at Orlando City Stadium in Orlando, Fla.


Through 35 years of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of nearly 100,000 at eight institutions, including three located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University with the University of North Dakota becoming an official member on July 1, 2018. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced nine NCAA Champions along with over 90 Academic All-Americans, nearly 100 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague.