#SummitWSOC Weekly Notebook: Recap

SDSU goalkeeper Maggie Smither record the most shutouts in a season in league history with 14 and has recorded a league-record 32 career shutouts.
SDSU goalkeeper Maggie Smither record the most shutouts in a season in league history with 14 and has recorded a league-record 32 career shutouts.


SIOUX FALLS, S.D. – The 2019 Summit League women's soccer season was a season to remember, especially during non-conference action as league squads combined to post a 42-41-9 record leading up to conference play. That win total is the first time the Summit League has won 40 or more non-conference matches since the 2007-08 season when teams combined to go 41-46-6.

Denver earned its fourth Summit League regular-season title with a 7-0-1 mark and South Dakota State won the Summit League Championship as the No. 2 seed.

The 2019 season was also the first time the top two seeds faced each other in the championship game since 2012 when No. 1 Oakland defeated No. 2 Purdue Fort Wayne 2-0. The Jackrabbits won its first #SummitWSOC Tournament Championship, presented by U.S. Air Force Special Warfare, since 2016 as they defeated top-seeded Denver 4-2 in a shootout.

The Pioneers' regular-season title came in head coach Jeff Hooker's 600th career match and was also named  Coach of the Year for the third time as well. Hooker is now sixth among all-time Summit League coaches with a .576 winning percentage in DU's seven seasons as a member. Additionally, Hooker sits second in Summit League winning percentage (.759), third in Summit League wins (40), fifth in career victories (76), sixth in Summit League matches coached (54) and seventh in career matches coached (139).

SDSU put together a league-tying-high 12-match winning streak tied with IUPUI in 2009. Those 12 wins, which came via shutout, is a league record for the most consecutive shutouts and their 15 overall shutouts is a league record. Senior Maggie Smither accounted for 14 of the 15 shutouts is now the league's single-season record and also has a league-record 32 career shutouts. The Jackrabbits also recorded a 0.40 goals against average, which is a league record. Smither was named the Summit League Player of the Week three times and has seven-career weekly honors, which is tied for the second-most in league history.

Smither was named the league's Goalkeeper of the Year for the third consecutive season, while her teammates Leah Manuleleua and Maya Hansen earned Offensive and Freshman Player of the Year honors, respectively. Hansen is the second Jackrabbit to be named Freshman of the Year, joining Diana Potterveld in 2012.

North Dakota State's Elyse Huber became the fifth player in league history to record a four-goal contest in a 4-2 win at Eastern Washington. Huber, who transferred from Nebraska, scored a league-high 11 goals this season and was tied with SDSU's Manuleleua with 24 points.

Manuleleua, who captured the league's Offensive Player of the Year accolade, fortified her name several times in The Summit League Women's Soccer Record Book after putting together quite the season. She set a new league record with eight game-winning goals, including one in the semifinal match of the Summit League tournament against Oral Roberts.

Denver's Cheyenne Shorts was the first Pioneer to win Defensive Player of the Year honors since 2016. This was her second-career Summit League first-team honor to her awards list. Shorts captained a Denver defense that allowed just 11 shots on goal in league matches and finished the regular season fourth in the country in shots on goal

SDSU's Smither was named the Championship MVP after finishing with four saves and scored the first of four penalty kick goals in the championship match against Denver. For her efforts, Smither was named a first-team All-Summit League Tournament performer for the second time in her career.

National/Regional Awards
Google Cloud CoSIDA All-District
Rachel Preston, South Dakota State (District 6)
Kellee Willer, South Dakota (District 6)
Kaitlyn Guhl, Omaha (District 7)


United Soccer Coaches All-West Region Team
Cheyenne Shorts, Denver (First)
Leah Manuleleua, South Dakota State (Second)
Natalie Beckman, Denver (Second)
Sami Feller, Denver (Second)
Alexis Mitchell, South Dakota (Third)


United Soocer Coaches Scholar All-West Region Team
Alexis Mitchell, South Dakota (Second)
Kellee Willer, South Dakota (Third)
Monica Polgar, North Dakota State (Third)


Individual Awards
Offensive Player of the Year
Leah Manuleleua, South Dakota State
Defensive Player of the Year
Cheyenne Shorts, Denver
Goalkeeper of the Year
Maggie Smither, South Dakota State
Freshman of the Year
Maya Hansen, South Dakota State
Coach of the Year
Jeff Hooker, Denver

2019 All-Summit League Women's Soccer Teams
First Team
Hannah Adler, Denver, MF  
Natalie Beckman, Denver, F
Sami Feller, Denver, MF
Elyse Huber, North Dakota State, F
Leah Manuleleua, South Dakota State, F
Taylor Parker, Denver, D
Darien Poelstra, South Dakota State, MF
Cheyenne Shorts, Denver, D
Maggie Smither, South Dakota State, GK
Kellee Willer, South Dakota, F
Kaitlin Zabel, South Dakota State, D

Second Team
Maya Hansen, South Dakota State, F
Jordan Langebartels, Oral Roberts, F
Margaret LaVigne, Omaha, D
Camryn MacMillan, Denver, F
Karlee Manding, South Dakota State, MF
Alexis Mitchell, South Dakota, MF
Abby Ostrem, South Dakota, D
Drishana Pillay, Oral Roberts, MF
Monica Polgar, North Dakota State, GK
Gabby Vivier-Hannay, South Dakota State, D
Brittany Wilson, Denver, GK

Freshman Team
Gabrielle Abbey, Oral Roberts, D
Allison Austin, Oral Roberts, GK
Lavin Douglass, North Dakota State, MF
Hannah Gallegos, Denver, D
Kaitlyn Glover, Denver, MF
Maya Hansen, South Dakota State, F
Lynette Hawkins, Western Illinois, D
Mia Kitterman, Oral Roberts, F
Bailey McNitt, North Dakota, F
McKenna Strand, North Dakota State, D
Lexie Wood, South Dakota, MF

Follow The Summit League
SOCIAL: Twitter | Facebook | Instagram