IUPUI’s Jaruvang, IPFW’s Henestrosa Named Summit League Tennis Players of the Year

IUPUI’s Jaruvang, IPFW’s Henestrosa Named Summit League Tennis Players of the Year

FORT WAYNE, Ind. – IUPUI's Jason Jaruvang earned Men's Player of the Year honors and Fort Wayne's Anita Henestrosa was named Women's Player of the Year as The Summit League announced its individual tennis awards and all-league teams Thursday evening.

Newcomer of the Year honors went to Jaruvang and South Dakota State's Ffion Davies. South Dakota State's men's coach Michael Engdahl and Kansas City's Kendell Hale earned Coach of the Year accolades.

Jaruvang recorded a 5-0 Summit League record at No. 1 singles and was part of four doubles wins for the Jaguars. His five victories led all No. 1 singles players and tied for the overall league lead. Jaruvang's selection as Player of the Year and Newcomer of the Year marked the fifth sweep of men's individual honors in league history. He also became IUPUI's second Summit League Men's Tennis Player of the Year honoree.

Henestrosa, who played No. 1 singles for the Mastodons, led all players with a 7-0 Summit League record. She also combined for a 6-0 doubles record against league opposition. Henestrosa was The Summit League's Newcomer of the Year in 2012.

Davies became the first South Dakota State player to earn an individual tennis award. The freshman compiled a 4-1 Summit League record at No. 2 singles and teamed for a 4-1 record at No. 2 doubles.

Engdahl guided South Dakota State's men to its best Summit League finish in history. The Jackrabbits placed second with a 4-1 league record after being picked fifth in the league's preseason poll.

Hale led Kansas City to a 6-1 Summit League record and second-place finish, the highest in school history. The award marks the first women's Coach of the Year honor for Hale, who won the men's accolade in 2011.

Men's regular season champion Kansas City led the way with four selections on the all-league team. Nino Hasandedic (3-1 at No. 1 singles), Abdul Alawadhi (combined 5-0 at No. 2-4 singles), Grant Fleming (combined 5-0 at No. 2-3 singles) and Tomas Patino (3-0 at No. 4 singles) represent the Kangaroos. Runner-up South Dakota State placed a trio of players on the all-league squad in Andrea Boglić (2-2 at No. 1 singles), Parker Lawley (combined 4-0 at No. 2-3 singles) and Henrique Pereira (3-1 at No. 4 singles). Jaruvang's IUPUI teammate Armaan Choudhary (3-1 at No. 5 singles), Fort Wayne's duo of Gerard Guell (3-0 at No. 6 singles) and Daniel Kang (2-3 at No. 1 singles), and Western Illinois' Bradley Holt (4-1 at No. 3 singles) rounded out the men's honorees.

Women's regular season champion Fort Wayne paced the all-league team with five honorees, led by Henestrosa. Also representing the Mastodons are Caterina Kiefer (combined 5-0 at No. 2-3 singles), Kristine Lindal (2-1 at No. 2 singles), Theresa Neumeyr (combined 4-0 at No. 5-6 singles) and Miloslava Shustova (combined 5-1 at No. 3-4 singles). Regular season runner-up Kansas City had three selections in Laura Bouet (6-1 at No.1 singles), Eva Dalvai (combined 4-1 at No. 2-3 singles) and Dimitra Stavrianakou (combined 5-1 at No. 2-3 singles). South Dakota State's duo of Davies and Florencia Magni (4-2 at No.1 singles), South Dakota's Yamini Reddy (3-0 at No. 6 singles) and IUPUI's Bobbi Modesto (3-0 at No. 3 singles) comprised the remainder of the squad.

The 2013 Summit League Championships are hosted by IPFW and will be played April 26-27 at the Dr. Rudy & Rhonda Kachmann Tennis Center in Fort Wayne.

Men's All-Summit Team

Abdul Alawadhi, Kansas City
Andrea Boglić, South Dakota State
Armaan Choudhary, IUPUI
Grant Fleming, Kansas City
Gerard Guell, Fort Wayne
Nino Hasandedic, Kansas City
Bradley Holt, Western Illinois
Jason Jaruvang, IUPUI
Daniel Kang, Fort Wayne
Parker Lawley, South Dakota State
Tomas Patino, Kansas City
Henrique Pereira, South Dakota State

Men's Player of the Year: Jason Jaruvang, IUPUI
Men's Newcomer of the Year: Jason Jaruvang, IUPUI
Men's Coach of the Year: Michael Engdahl, South Dakota State

Women's All-Summit Team

Laura Bouet, Kansas City
Eva Dalvai, Kansas City
Ffion Davies, South Dakota State
Caterina Kiefer, Fort Wayne
Anita Henestrosa, Fort Wayne
Kristine Lindal, Fort Wayne
Florencia Magni, South Dakota State
Bobbi Modesto, IUPUI
Theresa Neumeyr, Fort Wayne
Yamini Reddy, South Dakota
Miloslava Shustova, Fort Wayne
Dimitra Stavrianakou, Kansas City

Women's Player of the Year: Anita Henestrosa, Fort Wayne
Women's Newcomer of the Year: Ffion Davies, South Dakota State
Women's Coach of the Year: Kendell Hale, Kansas City

Entering its fourth decade of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 144,000 at nine universities, four of which are located in top 58 U.S. metro populations (Detroit, Indianapolis, Kansas City and Omaha). Member institutions include: Fort Wayne (Indiana-Purdue-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), Kansas City (University of Missouri-Kansas City), North Dakota State University, Oakland University, Omaha (University of  Nebraska Omaha), the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced 54 All-Americans, 37 Academic All-America selections and seven NCAA Championships. For more information about the league and its history, visit www.thesummitleague.org to "See The Summit" or follow on Twitter @thesummitleague.