DU’s O’Loughlin Collects #SummitWTN Player of the Week Honor

DU’s O’Loughlin Collects #SummitWTN Player of the Week Honor

ELMHURST, Ill. – Denver's Julia O'Loughlin was named Summit League Women's Tennis Player of the Week for her performance April 18-23. The award marked the season's final weekly honor.

Jr. // Highland Beach, Fla.

  • Garnered her fifth career Player of the Week honor and third of the season
  • Scored a pair of straight-set singles victories and helped Denver to league victories that clinched The Summit League regular season crown outright
  • Defeated Oral Roberts' CeCe Cornelius (2 and 1) and Western Illinois' Courtney Lubbers (1 and 0)
  • Teamed for doubles wins over ORU's Cornelius/Vasiljevic (6-1) at WIU's Bravo/Lubbers (6-0)
  • Finished a league-leading 5-0 against Summit League competition at No. 1 singles
  • Improved to 13-7 overall in singles matches and 15-3 in doubles play

Also nominated: Andrea Vasiljevic, Oral Roberts; Iasmin Rosa, South Dakota State; Natalia Bravo, Western Illinois

Previous recipients: Jan. 24 – Julia O'Loughlin, Denver; Jan. 31 – Michelle Lo, Omaha; Feb. 7 – Bianca Mok, Denver; Feb. 14 – Julia O'Loughlin, Denver; Feb. 21 – Laura Romero, South Dakota State; Feb. 28 – Barbora Kollarova, South Dakota; March 7 – Maureen Slattery, Denver; March 14 – Ellie Burns, South Dakota; March 21 – Ellie Burns, South Dakota; March 28 – Petya Simeonova, Oral Roberts; April 4 – Natalia Bravo, Western Illinois; April 11 – Maureen Slattery, Denver; April 18 – Bianca Mok, Denver

Celebrating its 35th season of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 120,000 at nine institutions, including four located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced eight NCAA Champions along with over 80 Academic All-Americans, 75 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit www.thesummitleague.org website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague and watch the weekly "Inside The Summit League" show at www.thesummitleague.org/itsl.