Denver takes home sixth-straight title

Denver claimed its sixth-straight Summit League Women's Tennis Championship title after defeating Omaha 5-0.
Denver claimed its sixth-straight Summit League Women's Tennis Championship title after defeating Omaha 5-0.

The Basics
Score: No. 1 Denver 5, No. 3 Omaha 0
Records: Denver (17-5), Omaha (7-18)
Location: Bernis Duke Tennis Center

Tulsa, Okla. –Denver became the first team in league history to win its sixth-straight Summit League Women's Tennis Championship title with a 5-0 win over Omaha Saturday afternoon at the Bernis Duke Tennis Center.

The Pioneers came out rackets swinging and took a 1-0 advantage after capturing the doubles point. Two-time Player of the Year Bianca Mok and Camille Verden-Anderson took the first match after beating Omaha's Natalie Lorentz and Marie Kapelevich 6-1 in the top spot. Denver clinched the doubles point after Newcomer of the Year Tatum Burger and Hada Chang overcome Janelle Wilson and Savanna Crowell 6-1 in the No. 2 spot.

Denver kept the momentum in singles action and took the championship in three-straight matches. Arisha Ladhani pushed the lead 2-0 for the Pioneers after defeating Emily Behling 6-1, 6-0 in the No. 4 spot. Denver's Burger extended the lead 3-0 by beating Lorentz 6-2, 6-1 in the No. 3 spot and Riedmiller would clinch the victory for the Pioneers after overcoming Wilson 6-3, 6-2 in the No. 2 spot.

Up Next
As The Summit League women's champion, Denver claims the league's NCAA automatic bid. The NCAA Selection show is scheduled for Monday, April 29 at 5:30 p.m. CT.

Follow The Summit League
SOCIAL: Twitter | Facebook | Instagram


Through 36 years of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of nearly 115,000 at nine institutions, including three located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), the University of North Dakota, North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, Purdue Fort Wayne (Purdue University Fort Wayne), the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced 12 NCAA Champions along with over 100 Academic All-Americans, nearly 125 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague.


Ladhani honored by ITA
May 20, 2019 Ladhani honored by ITA