SDSU’s Reichow, IUPUI’s Zajac Earn Initial Cross Country Awards

South Dakota State's Joel Reichow and IUPUI's Rachel Zajac
South Dakota State's Joel Reichow and IUPUI's Rachel Zajac

ELMHURST, Ill. – South Dakota State's Joel Reichow and IUPUI's Rachel Zajac were named The Summit League's Cross Country Athletes of the Week for their performances Aug. 30-31, marking the initial awards of the 2013 season.

Joel Reichow, South Dakota State

So. // White Bear Lake, Minn.
Reichow collects his first career Athlete of the Week honor after winning the first race of his career at the Bison Open with a 5k time of 15:46.38.  The White Bear Lake, Minn., native led North Dakota State, No. 12 in the Midwest Region, to a first-place team finish ahead of a pair of league foes in South Dakota, No. 13 in the Midwest Region, and North Dakota State and North Dakota.

Also nominated: Jordan Holloman, Fort Wayne; Joey Zielinski, IUPUI; Brett Kelly, North Dakota State; Mubarik Musa, South Dakota.

Rachel Zajac, IUPUI

Sr. // St. John, Ind.
Zajac claims her first career Athlete of the Week award after finishing first at the Meijer Flyer 5k and leading the Jaguars to a second-place team finish ahead of Xavier, No. 13 in the Great Lakes Region.  The senior crossed the finish line in 18:25.2, ahead of runners from Ohio State, No. 7 in the Great Lakes Region, to win her first career race and record the first meet win by an IUPUI runner since 2000.  The Jaguars' team finish was the program's all-time best finish at the Flyer 5k.  Zajac's honor marks the first weekly award for an IUPUI women's cross country runner since 2002.

Also nominated: Julia Jeszenszky, Fort Wayne; Erin Teschuk, North Dakota State; Katie Wetzstein, South Dakota; Courtney Neubert, South Dakota State.

In its fourth decade of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 120,000 at eight institutions, including three located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced eight NCAA Champions, 62 All-Americans and 50 Academic All-America selections.

Follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague, @summithoops and @summitchamps