SDSU’s Reichow, IUPUI’s Roudebush and Zajac Capture Weekly Cross Country Honors

IUPUI's Sam Roudebush, South Dakota State's Joel Reichow and IUPUI's Rachel Zajac
IUPUI's Sam Roudebush, South Dakota State's Joel Reichow and IUPUI's Rachel Zajac

ELMHURST, Ill. – IUPUI's Sam Roudebush and South Dakota State's Joel Reichow were named The Summit League's Men's Athletes of the Week, while IUPUI's Rachel Zajac was named the Women's Athlete of the Week for their performances Sept. 4-9.

Sam Roudebush, IUPUI
So. // Noblesville, Ind.
Roudebush earns his first career Athlete of the Week award after claiming the IPFW Invitational title and leading the Jaguars to its second-straight meet win of the season.  The sophomore led his squad, who recorded a program-best perfect 15-point score, with an 8k league-best time of 26:57.33.  IUPUI's second meet victory of the season marks the seventh in program history. 

Joel Reichow, South Dakota State
So. // White Bear Lake, Minn.
Reichow collects his second consecutive Athlete of the Week honor after a second-place finish at the Oz Memorial among a field of two Midwest regionally ranked teams, No. 6 Minnesota and No. 15 Drake.  He posted a 6k time of 19:19.5, which ranks second in the league, to lead the Jackrabbits to a runner-up team finish.

Also nominated: Taylor Crowell, Fort Wayne.

Previous honorees: 9/3 – Joel Reichow, South Dakota State.

Rachel Zajac, IUPUI

Sr. // St. John, Ind.
Zajac garners her second-straight Athlete of the Week honor after winning the IPFW Invitational and leading the Jaguars to their first meet victory since 2000.  The St. John, Ind., native claimed her second race title in as many weeks, crossing the finish line in a league-best 6k time of 22:26.33.  Zajac becomes the first IUPUI cross country runner to earn back-to-back league honors.

Also nominated: Julia Jeszenszky, Fort Wayne; Kristin Rogers, Omaha; Courtney Neubert, South Dakota State.

Previous honorees: 9/3 – Rachel Zajac, IUPUI.

In its fourth decade of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 120,000 at eight institutions, including three located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced eight NCAA Champions, 62 All-Americans and 50 Academic All-America selections.

Follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague, @summithoops and @summitchamps