Summit League Releases 2018 Fall Sports League Schedules

Summit League Releases 2018 Fall Sports League Schedules

Men's Soccer Schedule
Women's Soccer Schedule
Volleyball Schedule

ELMHURST, Ill. – The Summit League released its schedule of 2018 regular season league contests for the fall sports of men's soccer, women's soccer and volleyball on Friday.

In men's soccer, Summit League play opens Sept. 22 with a rematch of last season's tournament title match between Denver (regular season champion) and Omaha (tournament champion) at Caniglia Field. Western Illinois, last season's regular season runner-up and a participant in the last seven championships, begins its league schedule Sept. 29 hosting Oral Roberts. Eastern Illinois, tournament qualifiers the last two seasons, hosts Denver (Sept. 29) in its league opener.

The nine women's soccer squads will begin league play the weekend of Sept. 27-30. Denver, the 2017 tournament champion, opens its league schedule against South Dakota (Sept. 28), while regular season champion South Dakota State begins at Fort Wayne the same day. The Pioneers and Jackrabbits square-off Oct. 7 in Brookings. Summit League newcomer North Dakota battles reigning tournament runner-up Oral Roberts in its first contest Sept. 30 in Tulsa.

The double round-robin league volleyball schedule begins the weekend of Sept. 21-23. First serve of league play (Sept. 21) will see a rematch of last season's championship match between Denver and Oral Roberts in Tulsa. The return contest in Denver is set for Nov. 2. The Pioneers and Golden Eagles also finished 1-2 in last season's regular season standings. Denver, winners of four consecutive league tournaments, will battle 2016 runner-up South Dakota on Oct. 5 (Vermillion) and Oct. 30 (Denver). North Dakota goes on the road for its first Summit League matches at Western Illinois (Sept. 21) and at Fort Wayne (Sept. 23).

Through 35 years of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of nearly 100,000 at eight institutions, including three located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University with the University of North Dakota becoming an official member on July 1, 2018. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced nine NCAA Champions along with over 90 Academic All-Americans, nearly 100 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague.